Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good base recipe. Too salty and bland as written, but much better with added 1/4 t. ginger, decreased soy sauce to 3 T. low sodium, and increase water to 1 c. to make a sauce. I also added broccoli, which worked very well. Served 2 very hungry people with 2 c. (dry) jasmine rice. Easy to prepare in the 20 minutes the rice is simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! This was so good. I did not use green onions. Instead of rice, I mixed it with an Asian vegetable stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very quick and easy to make. Tastes really good. Only gave four stars because it is VERY salty. Would definitely recommend cutting down on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was a delicious dinner. My 3 year old is so picky and she LOVED this so much she had seconds which is not a normal thing with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
this was good. I did add green pepper, onion, ginger and xtra sugar. i'll think twice next time when it comes to ordering chinese take out. i loved how the sauce thickened up with the cornstarch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was delicious!! added some jasmine rice we gobbled it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Hmmmm...not sure what I'm missing here but I thought this was just alright. Basically it tasted like chicken in soy sauce. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made a few adjustments after reading most of the reviews and the end result was delicious! I used 6 cloves of garlic just because we LOVE garlic. Also added two julienned carrots to the chicken/garlic. I mixed 3 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tablespoons rice vinager, 1/2 cup water and 1 tablespoon sugar in a small bowl and added it to the chicken mix. For the last few minutes of cooking I added 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger and the green onion. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Angela~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Ok but not my favorite recipe that I have found on this site for chinese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I make this recipe all the time now! I skip the cornstarch, I find I never need it. In a separate pan, I add a couple splashes of chicken broth, and slice up red peppers and zucchini thinly and simmer until they're tender. If I have bok choy or bean sprouts on hand I'll toss them in too. I like to put the chicken and veggies over a bed of brown rice or quinoa (cooked in 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth), or I mix it all up with some steamed noodles. It's a great stir fry. I also tend to make a little extra sauce. This is my favorite recipe! It's very versatile and you can adjust it to how you want; I like to add a little extra cayenne, and sometimes some ginger powder to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States