Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I agree with two of the recurring themes here: it definitely takes longer than ten minutes, and the flavor is missing something. My favorite variation so far involved replacing the vegetable oil with a olive/canola blend, the white wine vinegar with rice vinegar and adding two tsp of fresh minced ginger. Since there isn't a lot of sauce to go around I prefer using basmati or jasmine rice since they have more flavor. A definite improvement but still needs a little tweaking. Perhaps chili oil instead of cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Can we say Yummy! I did increase the amount of the sauce by converting the recipe to 8 servings but only used three chicken breasts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Great recipe, didn't change anything really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
A+. Big hit at the dinner table. Note: you may want to use 2 or 3 times the amt of veg oil to fry the chicken and garlic- as the proportion of meat to oil is not enouh and the chicken cannot cook thoroughly. Deslih, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was very good! I made it as written, but a couple of suggestions though: increase oil to 2-3 tbsp, the cornstarch on the chicken sucks it up pretty quick. Reduce the soy sauce to 3 tbps, it is very overpowering, and then increase the amount of sugar and green onions. Thanks for the recipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I added in some cashews and broccoli and only put in two garlic cloves. Was great over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this. Takes longer than 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I added 1/2 bag pepper strips for the vegetable edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ketaject

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
So tasty! I've used two other kinds of vinegar besides white wine (whatever I have around), and it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
In search of a simple and good Chicken Szechuan recipe, I came across this one. All I can is - OMG this is FANTASTIC! My husband really enjoyed it and gobbled up the majority of the 2 servings I made - I guess he thought it was fantastic too. ;) The only thing I changed is that I added brocolli and shredded carrots towards the end of the recipe. I will DEFINITELY make this one again. I think next time I will add a fresh red pepper. Thanks PUSATERI for posting! =) I also agree with some of the postings, it's not a 10 minute recipe - but that's OK, it doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States