Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great! I've never had Szechuan chicken before and I've never attempted to make asian food before, but it was awesome! My kids and husband loved it! It took a little longer to make because I used brown rice. The rice alone took 45 minutes to cook. Other than that, it was really tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My husband loved this and he is picky when it comes to food like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Tasty but has no heat. I added about 1/4 tsp red chili flakes and 1/2 tsp minced ginger when I added the chicken and garlic to the wok. I think some fresh hot peppers or ground up habanero would give this that bit of kick that's lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this Szechuan chicken was so easy to make- it was delicious & fast. other recipes I'd try really weren't nearly as good, the people I had over (who'd tried other creations I'd attempted of this same type) definitely preferred this one to all the others hands down. I did make it with fried rice rather than traditional white rice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surfside Beach, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Wow... this was a lot better than I expected it to be! I must say, I did make a few changes based on reviews that it was too salty even with the low-sodium soy sauce. I only used 3 chicken breasts and for the sauce, I used 3 Tbsp of low-sodium soy sauce, 1 Tbsp of Teryaki sauce, one Tbsp of sherry, 1.5 Tbsp of white wine vinegar, 1/4 cup of water, 1 tsp of sugar, a couple shakes of ground ginger and mixed in the garlic with the sauce, as I think it would have burned and become bitter if cooked with the chicken. I used about 1/3 tsp of cayenne as well and a quick drizzle of sesame oil. This was tender and delicious over brown rice with broiled asparagus that was brushed with a little sesame oil and sprinkled with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I agree with two of the recurring themes here: it definitely takes longer than ten minutes, and the flavor is missing something. My favorite variation so far involved replacing the vegetable oil with a olive/canola blend, the white wine vinegar with rice vinegar and adding two tsp of fresh minced ginger. Since there isn't a lot of sauce to go around I prefer using basmati or jasmine rice since they have more flavor. A definite improvement but still needs a little tweaking. Perhaps chili oil instead of cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Trakel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Can we say Yummy! I did increase the amount of the sauce by converting the recipe to 8 servings but only used three chicken breasts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Great recipe, didn't change anything really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
A+. Big hit at the dinner table. Note: you may want to use 2 or 3 times the amt of veg oil to fry the chicken and garlic- as the proportion of meat to oil is not enouh and the chicken cannot cook thoroughly. Deslih, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was very good! I made it as written, but a couple of suggestions though: increase oil to 2-3 tbsp, the cornstarch on the chicken sucks it up pretty quick. Reduce the soy sauce to 3 tbps, it is very overpowering, and then increase the amount of sugar and green onions. Thanks for the recipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States