Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I agree with two of the recurring themes here: it definitely takes longer than ten minutes, and the flavor is missing something. My favorite variation so far involved replacing the vegetable oil with a olive/canola blend, the white wine vinegar with rice vinegar and adding two tsp of fresh minced ginger. Since there isn't a lot of sauce to go around I prefer using basmati or jasmine rice since they have more flavor. A definite improvement but still needs a little tweaking. Perhaps chili oil instead of cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Can we say Yummy! I did increase the amount of the sauce by converting the recipe to 8 servings but only used three chicken breasts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Great recipe, didn't change anything really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
A+. Big hit at the dinner table. Note: you may want to use 2 or 3 times the amt of veg oil to fry the chicken and garlic- as the proportion of meat to oil is not enouh and the chicken cannot cook thoroughly. Deslih, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was very good! I made it as written, but a couple of suggestions though: increase oil to 2-3 tbsp, the cornstarch on the chicken sucks it up pretty quick. Reduce the soy sauce to 3 tbps, it is very overpowering, and then increase the amount of sugar and green onions. Thanks for the recipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I added in some cashews and broccoli and only put in two garlic cloves. Was great over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this. Takes longer than 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I added 1/2 bag pepper strips for the vegetable edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ketaject

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
So tasty! I've used two other kinds of vinegar besides white wine (whatever I have around), and it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
In search of a simple and good Chicken Szechuan recipe, I came across this one. All I can is - OMG this is FANTASTIC! My husband really enjoyed it and gobbled up the majority of the 2 servings I made - I guess he thought it was fantastic too. ;) The only thing I changed is that I added brocolli and shredded carrots towards the end of the recipe. I will DEFINITELY make this one again. I think next time I will add a fresh red pepper. Thanks PUSATERI for posting! =) I also agree with some of the postings, it's not a 10 minute recipe - but that's OK, it doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States