Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not care for this dish...I found the white wine vinegar very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeandjen1991

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used lemon juice instead of vinegar. The food was tasty, but salty. I would use low sodium soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
INCREDIBLE! Made this tonight with white rice and steamed carrots and sugar snap peas..... It was absolutely perfect! I wish I could have made it hotter with more cayenne pepper, but everyone else said it was amazing and perfect and not to change the heat! Way better then your corner Chinese takeout! And you know exactly whats in it and can use free range organic chicken! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I chose to make this because it was a weeknight and I needed something quick. I wanted to make it a full meal, so I added red and green peppers, green beans, mushrooms and julienned carrots. I stir fried them first and then removed them from the pan to cook the chicken and added them back when the chicken was just about finished. I also added a little fresh ginger and 1 more tsp of sugar to the chicken. Finally, because I find the brand of soy sauce I use to be strong, I decided to cut it in half and add more if it needed it (it didn't) .To say this was delicious would be a gross understatement. It is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was awesome! My son is allergic to shellfish. This means we can't always eat out at most Asian restaurants. I made this as a special treat for him and he loved it so much that he took the rest for lunch at school. Wait till the teachers smell that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great! I've never had Szechuan chicken before and I've never attempted to make asian food before, but it was awesome! My kids and husband loved it! It took a little longer to make because I used brown rice. The rice alone took 45 minutes to cook. Other than that, it was really tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My husband loved this and he is picky when it comes to food like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Tasty but has no heat. I added about 1/4 tsp red chili flakes and 1/2 tsp minced ginger when I added the chicken and garlic to the wok. I think some fresh hot peppers or ground up habanero would give this that bit of kick that's lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this Szechuan chicken was so easy to make- it was delicious & fast. other recipes I'd try really weren't nearly as good, the people I had over (who'd tried other creations I'd attempted of this same type) definitely preferred this one to all the others hands down. I did make it with fried rice rather than traditional white rice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xolis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Surfside Beach, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Wow... this was a lot better than I expected it to be! I must say, I did make a few changes based on reviews that it was too salty even with the low-sodium soy sauce. I only used 3 chicken breasts and for the sauce, I used 3 Tbsp of low-sodium soy sauce, 1 Tbsp of Teryaki sauce, one Tbsp of sherry, 1.5 Tbsp of white wine vinegar, 1/4 cup of water, 1 tsp of sugar, a couple shakes of ground ginger and mixed in the garlic with the sauce, as I think it would have burned and become bitter if cooked with the chicken. I used about 1/3 tsp of cayenne as well and a quick drizzle of sesame oil. This was tender and delicious over brown rice with broiled asparagus that was brushed with a little sesame oil and sprinkled with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States