Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by angell7b43
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was very good, but I changed a few things, so I couldn't rate this a 5, but good base recipe. I used chicken instead of beef. I used 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce and 3/4 cup water and added one beef boulion cube. then I used about 3 tbl spoons of brown sugar, added about 2 cups of broccoli and used no onions. Then in the end I added a mixture of 2 tbl spoons water with 1 tbl spoon corn starch then poured it into the chicken, broccoli and sauce to thicken it up a bit. Served with white rice. Was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
The flavor has way too much soy sauce in it. It needs more sugar added or less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
OMGoodness!! So good! The chicken was tender and so flavorful. I will definitely be making this again and again!! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I recommend giving this recipe a try if you are serving it over a seasoned rice stir fry, since it has no sauce of its own. I used some dried Annaheim chile's from my garden instread of cayenne pepper, otherwise followed the recipe exactly and would make it again. Nice to be able to make it yourself and control the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
For as simple as this recipe is to make, This is full of flavor and great with rice. Double the sauce. I also added broccoli florets that I microwaved before adding at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! All I did differently was DOUBLE the sauce, and add in lots of veggies: broccoli, snap peas, green peppers, anything would work. The chicken was SUPER tender, and the flavor was excellent! This is going into the rotation of regular recipes I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
very easy and delicious. I added extra cayenne and served over white rice. very tasty recipe- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great base recipe that you can do so much with! It was a little bland for my taste, so i added more garlic, a little black pepper, chili paste, and a little honey. (the honey tied it all together!) I think next time i will use pineapple or orange juice instead of water just for a little more flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent and easy! I substituted olive oil for veg oil and added crushed peanuts and sesame as suggested in some of the reviews. YUMMY, hubby loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Made this tonight for a quick dinner to feed my hubby and two toddlers. Based on reviews doubled the sauce... I didnt get to eat right away so when I heated it up twenty mins later I thought it reduced a little too much and was kind of salty even being served over buttery rice. My hubs said he liked it right away though... Next time i may just add a little chicken stock when reheating to cut the salty! Awesome quick meal though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theddyleigh
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States