Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
The chili powder is way to strong in this. I put more tomato sauce in mine and garlic powder, much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeOrina Peggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sue
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I love making this sauce fast and easy and cheaper than going to store and getting a can or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I give this recipe 5 stars because it gave me a wonderful base to work with! I know it upsets people when we rate things 5 star only after we altered them, but again, if it weren't for the base, I wouldn't have had anything. My changes: 1 cup of chicken bullion ( I make my own and it is a bit strong) this prompts the change to onion powder( not salt) double the amount. Double the cumin, double the garlic. Now the interesting thing, I had to use regular chili powder. ( ya, I'm in a place that doesn't have a wide variety of spices) to make up for that I thoroughly blended a can of mild Rotel. I then added about a quarter of that. You could add more if you want. It came out great! My husband hates the taste of regular chili powder in anything other than chili. He didn't even know it was in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made this sauce for my enchilada. better than any restaurant in Springfield Mo. Did every thing the same BUT a after a taste test I put in1/8 t more of ground cumin now just right. Also when I just befor puting in oven lots of shredded cheese on top. Also cut some jalapenos sliced and put on top. PP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marine 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! I have used it SO many times both for regular enchiladas and also for biscuit enchilada casseroles. It just makes it. The only change I made was one of necessity: making tomato sauce from water and tomato paste(1 cup water with one 6oz can)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Perfect just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My family and I loved this sauce on our burritos. It was very easy to make. Before making this recipe I did read some of the comments Can & recommendations. I substituted chicken broth for the water and used regular chili powder. Can not wait to share with friends & family. Thank you to original user for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I had to add an awful lot to this to give it some flavor. I'm glad I tasted it before I topped my enchiladas with it, it would have been disappointing. Thanks for the great base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MStevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is a good basic and quick sauce. I took others advice and doubled the spices, used less than half of the brown sugar, and added a little cocoa powder to it. Other than that, I didn't change anything. I usually make my own chili powder, but didn't this time. I made the mistake of buying store bought. Would have been better with my own. I reccomend Alton Brown's chili powder recipe. It is so good and you will never buy chili powder again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
very good I felt the spice was perfect other member thought it spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States