Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's delicious but only added 3 tbs. of chili powder and used regular flour. I can't imagine this tasting any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great sauce. My first time making it ever and it turned out better than the average enchilada sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a great base sauce. Following some reviews (and also based on what i had on hand) i came up with the best version for my family. From the get go, I didn't have flour so i substituted 1 tbsp cornstarch. I only had a regular chile powder so i used a dash of that. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and 1 cup water. Then, i had old el paso original taco seasoning so i used 1 heaping tbsp of that along with a dash of cumin and half a tsp crushed jarred garlic. I also used a touch of lime juice and 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips, which gave it a great creamy consistency without a chocolatey flavor (tasted creamy and as if there was a touch of cocoa). I let simmer on lowest heat for about 20 mins before adding a little bit more of the taco seasoning and lime juice. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was really good! I started off by cooking a bit of onion in the oil and cooked it a little bit longer than 10 min...it was SO good. I'll definitely be making this again. Oh, also I just had regular old chili powder and that worked out just fine. I reduced the chili powder by half (per other reviews) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I found it tasted a bit too much like the oil. I added more spice as I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used EVOO instead of vegetable, but everything else was the same. Delicious!! So much better than that canned stuff. Will make this instead from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Scott Henson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was too oily for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This sauce was very easy to make and it tasted great; I would only recommend a little less chili powder otherwise it could be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family loves Mexican food so much, we have it 1 -2 times per week. . We are trying to get away from processed foods, so we were happy to find this recipe. Even though it says to cook for 10 minutes, we let it simmer until dinner was ready. The sauce thinkened quite nicely, and developed a dark, rich, red color, perhaps due to the chile powder used. It was so pretty I wish I'd taken a picture. We had the last of the sauce tonight with buffalo enchiladas - we will be making more sauce! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I combined this recipe feedback and mrs.espy's enchilada sauce recipe. Reduced oil to 2 tbsp. upped water to 2 cups. Doubled cumin,garlic salt and onion powder. This tasted just the same as store bought enchilada sauce and or the Lawry's enchilada seasoning packet so it was as expected. Will definitely not buy enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States