Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I made this recipe as written and it was not good. Maybe I used too much chili powder? Way too spicy and bland. Maybe I cooked the flour mixture too long? Not sure. So I gave it another try. I used 2T of chili powder instead and 2 8oz cans tomato sauce. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years!For a quick sauce there is a depth of flavor here more so than any supermarket brand. Add a pinch of paprika for extra smokey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We decided to make enchiladas today for Cinco de Mayo but didn't have the sauce, so I decided to look it up on AR and so glad that I did. This recipe is very easy and so good that it has been declared that we will not buy canned sauce again! I doubled the recipe and used half regular chili powder and (since we like things hot & spicy) half adobo seasoning with a dash of cayenne. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Can't wait for the enchiladas to come out of the oven and taste the final entree since the sauce was so tasty by itself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea_333

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
The sauce was very good. I made it exactly according to the recipe. I used it for ground pork enchilada casserole and it worked out well. Very good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I add a little more flour to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle898

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
A good basic recipe but I did like less water (1 cup or so). Used fire roasted diced tomatoes whizzed smooth and added roasted garlic instead of garlic powder. The sauce looked darker with the roasted tomato vs straight tomato sauce, and I think it probably added some flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was awesome. I simply used chili powder from the bulk section of the store and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
perfect for our taste exactly as it's written! We will never buy canned sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Exactly what I needed tonight for my enchiladas. Only one thing--I skipped the flour. And just a question--why on earth would you use self rising flour in a sauce?!? That is ridiculous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States