Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Fast, easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a wonderful sauce recipe. I agree with other reviewers that it is better than the canned sauce that you buy. I also used the chicken broth instead of water and I used a garlic clove instead of garlic powder. Excellent and easy recipe I recommend it for anyone looking for an easy quick enchilada sauce. I hope to try the chocolate in the sauce as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
4.5, if it was possible :) I liked it very much, but agree with some of the comments. Less water, closer chili powder to cumin and garlic ratio. But it is very good! (I tried adding cocoa to a batch, it was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delicious and easy. I didn't have the special chili powder, just cheap dollar store stuff and it tasted great. I also added a clove of fresh garlic to it as well, and used a chicken bouillon cube in with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I've made this now a few times, and love each and every time. It's easy and tastes better than any jarred enchilada sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe and it turned out great! I have tried several different recipes but this one so far is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This one is perfect and easy. Sometimes I put in a wee bit more chili powder, but that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I AM SHOCKED - I never thought I could have restaurant quality enchilada sauce at home! It was OUTSTANDING! I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions and substituted chicken broth in lieu of water and I added a couple of squares of dark chocolate (about 1/4 of a regular Dove candy bar). Also, I have Celiac, so I used Gluten Free flour and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffermak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I followed the original recipe, except I used onion powder, rather than onion salt and didn't add any salt. I tasted it and it was not good, at all. WAY too much chili powder and it was really bitter. The sauce was really dark. I think the issue is the chili powder. I added another can of tomato sauce, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp onion powder. 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 and 1/2 cups of water, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp of paprika, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1 tbsp of rice wine vinegar and 1/2 tsp of sugar, to cut the bitterness. Left it on medium simmer while I made my filling, grated cheese, etc. Approx. 20 minutes to let the flavors, meld. It made a thicker sauce than I expected and really coated my white corn tortillas. I believe it reduced by a quarter, to a third. I used 2/3 of the sauce for 8 beef enchiladas in a 9x13 baking dish. I won't use *this* recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States