Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
my family loved this! I had to make some changes though. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I blended up a 14 ounce can of tomatoes and juice and used all of it. It sounded like a whole lot of chile pwdr., and I had no idea what the diffference between New Mexico or Calif chile pwdr., but used what I had and it was great. I started out using half the amount of chile pwdr. called for just in case and found I needed the entire amount called for. When it was done, the sauce was a little bland for my taste, so I upped the amount of garlic, onion, cumin to 3/4 tsp. It was then great! To this sauce, I added boiled, shredded chicken, (3 boneless skinless chicken breasts) and 2 cans (4 ounce) green chiles. WOW!!!! Now we have a very versatile dish! Use for tacos, enchiladas, salad, nachos-you can't go wrong and I think the end product was a 5 star! Use your discretion at upping the amount of spice according to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
540 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
NICE!!!! To make it a lighter I omited the oil and browned the flour & chili powder in a dry pan. Adding a little more water to get that perfect consistancy. This one is well worth trying.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Wonderful flavor. Easy to make. Truly authentic taste. I have been looking for a receipe with this flavoring and glad I finally found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This rocked, I loved the taste of the sauce, but my wife told me it might be a bit too bold for our 4 yo daughter, so I added a 28 oz can of tomato sauce, instead of just 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Quick, easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Delicious! I used part hot and part mild New Mexican chili powder and it was great. Much better than enchilada sauce from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This should have been 10 stars! It is wonderful. I doubled everything but the oil. I will never buy canned sauce again! My family asked if we could have this again very soon. Great EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is an awesome sauce! I loved making it b/c it's just really, really fun, and you're most likley to have the ingrediants. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Very Yummy....I didn't have all the ingredients to fix this so I worked around them. Made my own Tomato sauce and used real garlic instead of Powder and I added more Chili Powder cause hey my family is the brave sort. The point is This is a great recipe do to the fact it is a good Basic so we can alter it how we see fit.. Very good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This was great and so easy! I have tried every type of canned sauce, packets and other recipes. This is the best! Just make sure you seasonings are fresh. This will give it a fresh and strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States