Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I have made at least 6 enchilada sauce recipes off this site, even the scratch boil-the-chiles-put-in-blender-strain-etc. This one is not only the easiest, but it's the best. I've made it dozens of times with only a few minor adjustments. At times I use a mixture of New Mexico and Calif chile powders. If I'm out of one, I'll use the other. Both have the best flavor for enchiladas. There doesn't seem to be a reason to use self-rising flour, so I use regular. If I have chicken broth on hand, I use that as a substite for the water. Same with fresh garlic. I add about an ounce or two of dark chocolate to the mix for a bit more depth in flavor. You can't taste the chocolate, but it does add something. I dip my corn tortillas in the sauce while the sauce is still pretty hot. I also pour sauce in the bottom of the baking dish before I place the rolled up enchiladas in. Don't worry if your sauce seems too thin; it thickens in the oven. Don't bother with any other sauce recipes on this site. Take my word for it, this one is the best. P.S. The best New Mexico chile powder is the 69 cent "Chile New Mexico Molido" in the red, white, and green package by the company "Mexico Spices Corp"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1941 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I hate to give this three stars but I hate it when people rate recipes by the changes they have made. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce had way too strong of a chili powder flavor to it, I nearly gaged. So I added more garlic pwd, cumin and onion pwd, it ended up tasting pretty good. However next time I will try 3 TBSP chili pwd and double the rest of the spices. I hope this helps someone! Revised: 04-1-08 I made this again and doubled the spices and only used two TBSP of chili powder it was much better, not perfect but much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
671 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
my family loved this! I had to make some changes though. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I blended up a 14 ounce can of tomatoes and juice and used all of it. It sounded like a whole lot of chile pwdr., and I had no idea what the diffference between New Mexico or Calif chile pwdr., but used what I had and it was great. I started out using half the amount of chile pwdr. called for just in case and found I needed the entire amount called for. When it was done, the sauce was a little bland for my taste, so I upped the amount of garlic, onion, cumin to 3/4 tsp. It was then great! To this sauce, I added boiled, shredded chicken, (3 boneless skinless chicken breasts) and 2 cans (4 ounce) green chiles. WOW!!!! Now we have a very versatile dish! Use for tacos, enchiladas, salad, nachos-you can't go wrong and I think the end product was a 5 star! Use your discretion at upping the amount of spice according to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I have made this recipe for about a year. It got much better once I reduced the amount of water! It makes a creamy heartier sauce. 1 cup water max, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is great, I followed the advice of other reviewers and used plain flour, used only half the chili powder and it was fantastico. I also added 1 clove crushed garlic during the browning of the flour and 1 teaspoon of cumin with the chili powder. Deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
The problem with a 10 minute sauce is that it lacks the depth of flavor - which I think is needed in a really good enchilada sauce. I just made a small batch to see what I thought before making a large batch for our family dinner tomorrow. It tastes like tomato sauce and chili powder. I followed the recipe to a T. Living in Southern California avails you to many authentic mexican restaurants. It didn't taste bad, but it certainly isn't what I consider enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was so easy and yummy! Tasted like the sauce in the restaurants! I didn’t have self-rising flour so I used regular flour and added a tablespoon of cornstarch once it was bubbling to thicken it up. I will never buy the packaged sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierramae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very nice taste / texture. I would give it 4 stars but my wife & kids give it 5+, so 5 it is! I think the 'servings' is per enchilada, so for your average 9x13" pan of enchilads you will need to double the recipe. We will use this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I also prefer the New Mexico chili powder for this recipe. And I don't see why enchilada sauce requires a leavening agent (I never have self-rising flour on hand anyway) so I just go with the Wondra flour and decrease the water by 1/4 cup. I also like my garlic, so I double the amount, using granulated, and sometimes I'll add a pinch of cinnamon just for fun. This recipe has replaced the canned stuff in our house. Thank you, Brandi T. Great photo, Linda! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good enchilada sauce & I would definitely make it again over buying canned. I used regular all-purpose flour; also used chipotle chili powder and it was really too hot; I had to tone it down with more tomato sauce, but it turned out to be very good. Subbed the 1.5c water with 1c chicken broth for better flavor. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States