Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Pretty good stuff if in a pinch but somehow, I like the canned better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had purchased canned enchilada sauce for enchiladas and it was too spicy so I needed a quick sauce for them and this sauce is delicious-I heartily reccomend this sauce and even cheaper than premade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So easy and amazingly delicious. It was my first time making homemade sauce and it was wonderful. I gave it four instead of five stars because I cut the chili powder in half for a less harsh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was excellent and easy! I have tried others, and like this one the best. I subbed chicken broth for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yessiree and never never will go canned ever again. Our enchiladas would compete with the best Mexican cook. I just seasoned it to the perfect taste and made enough to freeze for another great dish! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geraldine burk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made it in 10 minutes and gave it depth. Brown flour in skillet in advance until deep golden brown and keep it handy in a jar (keeps for up to a year. Use high quality beef broth instead of water. Use highest quality chili powders you can acquire (I use several fresh blends that I buy in bulk at the health food store), use lard, not vegetable oil. Talk about depth. Mexicans use lard, not veg oil. It gives the depth that butter would. Add fresh garlic and fresh ground cumin. If you have all these things on hand, it's no problem. I didn't use any tomato's at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Great base recipe, but way too much oil. There's no need for 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. I only used about 1 tablespoon of olive oil and it was just fine. I also used a large can of tomato sauce instead if the 8oz and I think it turned out great. I added extra spices -- salt, additional chili powder, liquid smoke, chipotle chili powder, etc., and let it simmer for about 30 minutes. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I add 1/2 cup minced onion, 2 tabl tomato paste, 1 tea cumin, 1/2 tea thyme, 1 clove garlic, mainced, 3/4 cup beef broth, 1 can crushesd tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Read the other reviews used broth instead of water and regular flour this was fantastic! Yes I made changes I am sure the original would not have been bad either but I love the difference that broth makes in anything....ps I used vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dwight, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent flavor and consistency! I did substitute sweet white sorghum flour, as my kitchen is gluten free. This recipe is definitely a keeper - thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClimbingRocks

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States