Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Of course, I had to tweak it! I used butter instead of vegetable oil, and doubled the spices. I also substituted a couple tablespoons of marsala wine for some of the water. YUMMY!!!!! Five stars for my tweak!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is really good as written. It just needs to simmer a lot longer, about 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I love this suace and it's so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Not having a can of store-bought enchilada sauce to compare this to, I cannot give it 5 stars, but I also felt it was inappropriate to rate it lower. It has a good flavor (I made the recipe with ingredients as was called for), but I would probably add a few extra spices (or just extra of the existing) to make it work as an 'open sauce' (what I call it) for enchiladas. I'm using it in a Crockpot recipe though, so it is doing its job to complete my recipe, and won't be the primary flavor of the dish. That said, good basic recipe in a pinch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used Chicken broth in place of water, Best recipe I have tried yet. I will always use this one. I made a double batch and you can freeze the extra sauce just add chicken broth to thin it with the next use. I used both chile powders, 4 large cloves of garlic and 1/4 dices onion in place of the powder. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I am not sure what I did wrong with this recipe but it came out terrible. Does anyone know if cumin can become rancid? Or is it possibly because I used regular McCormick's chili powder? Would love comments on how to improve this or tell me of another recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It tastes like flour and cumin. It just does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I tried so hard to like this sauce. It tastes like oil and spices, there's barely any tomato flavor and cooking the chili powder in a skillet with oil and flower burns the eyes. I finally had to make it from scratch myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
LOVED THIS! Huge hit with my family. I did make a couple of changes. I took other reviewers advice and doubled the recipe since we made about 12-14 enchiladas. We don't like our food to be too spicy so I put in less than a 1/4 cup of chili powder even though I doubled the recipe.I also put in a whole can of beef broth instead of water. I also used one whole can of tomato sauce plus a whole can of rotel cilantro tomatoes. I let the whole thing simmer for about 20 to 30 min. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I can't comment on if it is authentic or not but we loved this recipe. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought the recipe was wonderful and easy and will never purchase enchilada sauce from the store again. I did use turkey broth for the water since I had it left over in the fridge but other than that I did not alter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States