Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This one is perfect and easy. Sometimes I put in a wee bit more chili powder, but that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I AM SHOCKED - I never thought I could have restaurant quality enchilada sauce at home! It was OUTSTANDING! I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions and substituted chicken broth in lieu of water and I added a couple of squares of dark chocolate (about 1/4 of a regular Dove candy bar). Also, I have Celiac, so I used Gluten Free flour and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffermak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I followed the original recipe, except I used onion powder, rather than onion salt and didn't add any salt. I tasted it and it was not good, at all. WAY too much chili powder and it was really bitter. The sauce was really dark. I think the issue is the chili powder. I added another can of tomato sauce, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp onion powder. 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 and 1/2 cups of water, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp of paprika, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1 tbsp of rice wine vinegar and 1/2 tsp of sugar, to cut the bitterness. Left it on medium simmer while I made my filling, grated cheese, etc. Approx. 20 minutes to let the flavors, meld. It made a thicker sauce than I expected and really coated my white corn tortillas. I believe it reduced by a quarter, to a third. I used 2/3 of the sauce for 8 beef enchiladas in a 9x13 baking dish. I won't use *this* recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Not a fan. Made exactly as stated but still tasted strongly of straight chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
As a native New Mexican, it is law to have a second blender used solely to blend and make the red chile sauce every year (with roasted chiles, water and spices, no tomatoes). The chiles dye the blender dark red-black. I found that Old El Paso enchilada sauce tastes great and use that instead of slaving away every year. I felt guilty but every one raves about my enchiladas. One day I was driving down a county road in Gadsden County, the county that produces all the chile in NM (chile capital of the world) and drove by a huge factory labeled "Old El Paso" on the side. No wonder it taste great. Made with fresh Hatch chiles in the high dry desert climate of New Mexico. My review will probably be dropped...but anything that saves time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Have to give this 5 stars, I was a little skeptical if it would be any good but, surprise it was perfect and quick to boot. I used it to make beef and bean burritos and it was perfect without all the extra chemicals from a canned enchilada sauce. I did cut the water down to one cup and I added half a cube of beef boullion. After adding the cup of water, it looked like the perfect consistency, I know enchilada sauce is pretty thin. thanks, for a helpful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Delicious! My husband said this is the best enchilada sauce he's ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love this enchilada sauce. I will use it instead of the canned stuff from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe! At first I was afraid the chilli powder would be too overpowering for my family, but as the video says this is where a "good" chilli powder can make a difference...and it does. I followed the recipe adding only a little salt. I think next time I will do as another reviewer mentioned and make ahead to add a richer flavor. I won't be buying the canned stuff any more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States