Ten Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was a nice hearty dinner. I used a slightly different method though. Adding tomatoes to uncooked beans goes against everything I know about cooking beans. I was afraid that the acid in the tomatoes would prevent the beans from getting soft. So I added everything but the tomatoes and tomato sauce to the beans with enough broth to cover them well. Cooked until the beans were tender, stirred in the tomato products and cooked on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I Made a couple of adjustments based on other reviews by using c-broth and letting rest over night before serving. used ham instead of sausage. Didn't get rave reviews but everyone ate it. I think we prefer my old fashion pinto beans to this. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Even though I thought this might turn out bland, it was very good! I added 2 chicken buillion cubes, 2 BIG fresh diced Jalepenos (really kicked up the spice nicely). I added quite a bit more garlic, and 2 Tbsp of red wine vinegar. The last 10 minutes I added some 'quick cook' barley to make it a bit more hearty. This was much better than other 'multi bean' soups I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I tried this yesterday and it was excellent. I added andolle sausage and used chicken broth and a cup of red wine. It turned out excellent. T took it to a soup sampling party last night and had rave comments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Instead of water, I added chicken broth. But I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor of this soup. It was simple to make and even my 5 and 7 yr olds loved it! And they are usually very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was really good, but I made several changes. I used Italian turkey sausage and browned it before putting it into the crockpot. I used chopped onion instead of the onion powder. I used chicken stock instead of water. I also added some Italian seasoning--when I tasted it, it seemed like it needed a little something extra. And when the soup was nearly done, I added more chicken stock and some barley. In the end, it was very hearty and satisfying. It smelled a little weird while cooking, so I had my doubts, but it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was pretty good. Next time I'll make it with spicy Italian sausage to give it the kick I think it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I would recommend adding 3 cups of chicken broth or a 2 cups broth and one cup red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States