Tempting Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nedra Cohen
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I tried this recipe as written and gave it the 4 stars. The apples added a nice crunch to the mix. After trying things this way, my brain wanted more. I made this again and doubled the amount of tuna used wanting to add more crunch and depth. I added 1/4 green bell pepper, 1/4 red onion and 2 celery stalks- all diced, use the WHOLE apple and 1 more egg. Now I was happy! Thank you RAINYDAZE for this jump start. I would have never thought of using an apple. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent! I added some chopped spinach and another egg and omitted the salad dressing. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I used a Gala apple and mayonnaise as I didn't have the dressing on hand. This was fantastic. I'll definitely be making this again. The apples added a nice crunch that stuck around even after refrigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Definitely will add this recipe to my lunch list. Love the change of pace...the egg, the apple. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am not a fish fan at all - but the addition of the apples really breaks up the fish taste. I used crushed cashews instead of pecans and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
WOW! I love tuna salad and this is probably the best I've ever tried. I didn't have miracle whip on hand so I used light mayo - about half that the ingredients ask for. Still great! My sister and I have been eating this every other day for 2 weeks now, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My boyfriend thought this was just ok and I liked the idea of it but im not a big tuna salad fan. The apple and pecans were great and I will use these in another type of salad. I want to note that for this recipe I would dice the apple extremely small. The egg was also a good idea. Overall, it was just ok with us. I have found other recipes I prefer, like the Summertime Tuna Pasta salad which I put in a wrap for lunch on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I just had it for lunch. I made it about 30 minutes before eating and chilled it only for 30 min. I added one fourth of an onion but didn't add salt or pepper. I used all of the apple and one egg and didn't measure the mayo, just two spoonfuls. I toasted bread and let the bread cool slightly before eating. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
this is so ridiculously good!!!!! i added fresh spinach and ate the whole thing myself! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Dumont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My grandmother always used apples in her tuna salad. This one is very similar to her recipe. I used half of the recommended apples and added some grapes and celery to spice up the color. Also added a touch of dijon mustard. This is very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States