Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Great idea! Tastes just like a reuben, and it's quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Really good! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I work in a Vegetarian Kitchen. After 5 years of eating the same food day after day, this is the one sandwich that still sends me into culinary heaven every time I bite into it. We use earth balance and marble rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I'm not too sure what a real rueben tastes like, but I only thought this was ok....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARYDIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Great- except don't use the Multigrain Tofu, just use the plain. The other is too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
What an awesome, inexpensive, easy-to-make, and delicious vegetarian dish. I will ALWAYS make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was pretty good! I've been a vegetarian for 9.5 years now and I was having a huge craving for a reuben...this hit the spot, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! There are very few things I miss from the land of meat-eating, but reubens are one of them. I rushed home to make this after I found this recipe and was not disappointed. If anything, I found these sandwiches even tastier than the orignal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
use the recipe for seasoned tempeh with this sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I LOVE reubens, but this recipe left me unfulfilled. Try this next time -- it was a hit with my family: In large fry pan add 1 cup vegetable broth, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic, 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 cup water. Bring to a low boil. Then, cut tempeh at a diagonal for wider slices and simmer them in broth for 20 minutes, turning occasionally as liquid reduces. Remove from heat and place on a slice of lightly toasted rye, top with sauerkraut and swiss, put under a broiler for a minute so that the cheese melts, add your top slice of rye and serve with thousand island dressing. Even my finicky 8 year old loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States