Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I like this recipe. Never tried it though but growing up with tempeh as a cheap alternative to meat, i can make a lot of tempeh-based dish but putting it as a sandwich had never been one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I browned the slice of tempeh before compiling the sandwich. Sometimes I add grilled onions...just because!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have never had a real Reuben so I couldn't compare it to an original, but I thought this recipe was very tasty and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I just started making my own tempeh, bringing the price down to around $1.00/lb (*Well* worth the effort--GEM Cultures had the best price on starter I could find), so we're going to be eating a lot more of it from now own. I started with this recipe last night, since my husband has often spoken lovingly of the seitan reubens I made a few years ago. Delicious! I poached the tempeh in water, brushed it with a mixture of low-sodium soy sauce, liquid smoke, and pepper, and seared it quickly in a little oil. Otherwise I did everything according to recipe, and served it with a green salad. Very easy, very delicious, and highly recommened (especially for non-vegetarian audiances.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight, I'm new to tempeh still, but this was super easy to make! definilty making again. I put soy sauce & liquid smoke on the tempeh before lightly frying it. Then I followed the directions in the recipe. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I opted for simmering the tempeh in broth, liquid smoke, and garlic, then sauteing as did other reviewers. It didn't taste quite like a reuben made with meat, but it was a tasty, acceptable substitution. Even my meat loving husband liked it and says he'll eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
really good! i just tried it and it was perfect;i steamed the tempeh for a few minutes first,other than that it was the same as the recipe.easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was excellent! I did as the previous reviewer suggested and simmered the tempeh in the broth/liquid smoke/water mixture. After that I fried the slices of tempeh in a little oil, then assembled and grilled it. I do want to add that the recipe directions don't say anything about putting the 1000 island dressing on, but I advise you wait until after you grill it. This was sooo yummy, satisfied my craving for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TorensMom2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I had this in a vegetarian restaurant and wanted to try to duplicate the recipe. This was perfect, the only adjustment I made was sauteeing the tempeh in olive oil spray instead of butter to cut down on calories and saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
After missing Reubens for 12 years, I was pretty darn excited to find this recipe! I'm embarrassed as a vegetarian to say I had never heard of tempeh, but I am so glad I tried it!!!! My meat loving sister asked if it tasted like corned beef, and I had to say no, but with marinating the tempeh in soy sauce as per reviews, it captured the saltiness of corned beef, and along with the very distinct, strong reuben flavors of the saurkraut, swiss cheese, rye bread, and 1000 isle dressing, I didn't miss the meat at all! I am going to make for my meat loving husband to see what he thinks next! THANK YOU MEL FOR SUBMITTING THIS GEM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States