Tempeh Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was just okay. Too bland and liquidy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mirielcooks
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good! I used shredded mozzarella in lieu of pepper jack and it was great! I'm not much of a cheese person but I thought the cheese made it. I loved all the veggies and tempeh and let everything simmer much longer than the recipe called for and I think this helped with the flavor. Additionally I added cumin, lemon pepper, fresh basil. The hubby liked so I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirielcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I worked with what I had on hand (eggpl, red onion, lots of garlic, red/green pepp, frozen brocc, can of stewed tom., garb. beans,& tempeh). It was really good. I did the little bit of cumin and I overdid it a bit w/ the rosemary/thyme. I think the natural flavor of the veggies and s/p would have been fine. No matter what you have on hand the chick peas and tempeh were a great idea and create a good stew texture. Nice way to use tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was great, but we had to add lots of seasonings. Added extra fresh rosemary & garlic, plus fresh parsley & chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
definitely add more spices such as cumin, hot pepper, etc. i cooked it a little longer so the carrots were soft. used kidney instead of garbanzo. didn't use green beans. but for a vegan recipe, not bad as a base to personalize to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mushroom4eva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
i find that dry parsly on any meal brings alot of taste and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Defiantly recommend adding more spices. I made it as is and it was pretty bland. The tempeh added a sort of strange texture to the dish that I liked but the family didn't. If I did it again, I would add more of the spices that the other reviewers added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Added a little cumin like suggested in the first review as well as more rosemary and garlic and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Because of the richness of this dish I added a little Garam Masal and Cumin for the smokiness without wanting it to taste too "Chili" like, and it worked! Everyone loved this i will make this again! I also added frsh diced tomatos which gave it a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States