Tempeh Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
We tossed in some grilled hot peppers and had an incredible dinner. Quick and easy, a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I let the tempeh marinate a little while in the soy sauce and lime juice with a little garlic powder to add flavour. Also, to prevent dryness, I kept most of the water from the spinach and the mushrooms & kept a careful eye on the moisture level while cooking. Very juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Best fajitas ever! I loved this. I was worried about cooking the tempeh in soy sauce because I didn't think the sauce would taste good with fajitas, but it was actually really good. I cooked the veggies in olive oil instead of corn oil and I took some of the other people's advice and let the tempeh sit in vegetable broth to keep the tempeh moist while I prepared the rest of the food. I made my own guacuamole and I added jalapenos to the stir fried vegetables for added spice. I eliminated the mushrooms and spinach because I didn't have any. I also added raw corn and salsa and wrapped everthing up in a homestyle tortilla. It was awesome. I will definately make this again in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Clouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I am not a vegetarian but this looked good so I thought I'd try it. This being a fajita recipe, I decided to prepare this with Zatarain's Spanish Rice, and the combination just made this a definite keeper and it may even become a staple for us. Thanks for the recipe Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Loved this recipe! As suggested by other reviewers I marinated the tempeh in the soy sauce, lime juice, and a clove of minced garlic(cause my roomie loves it!) first. Only as long as it took me to prep the other ingredients. The only other changes I made were in using Italian parsley instead of cilantro, since I hate the stuff and adding water as it cooked to keep everything from drying out too much. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
i make this recipe all the time. i serve it over rice...not as fajitas...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used a clove of garlic (crushed) instead of the minced onion, used frozen pepper strips, and threw in some leftover rice. Then topped with salsa and rolled like a burrito. This recipe is so versatile and very yummy. I had never tried sauteeing tempeh with the soy sauce and lime juice combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was excellent!! I also marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce and lime juice. I substituted broccoli slaw for the spinach, used fresh onions, prepared salsa, and about 1/3 package of dry taco seasoning mix. My husband & I ate it over rice, and our daughter ate it on tortilla chips with shredded cheese, like nachos. I will definitely make this again, and will probably throw in some black beans and some sliced olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
So good and so easy! I didn't have spinach or mushrooms so I used fresh corn and black beans instead. I also used fresh garlic and chopped onion rather than the onion flakes. I will certainly make this again. (o:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
So good. I marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce/lime juice while I was chopping everything else up. I omitted the mushrooms and spinach since I didn't have them handy and used a jalepeno instead of the chile. I used bottled lime juice for the marinade and a few squirts of fresh cut lime into the frying pan...it was delicious and zesty. As a side I made some red beans and rice. It was a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontdoitjenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States