Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Loved this; it was great the night I made it, and even better the next day. I added cubed avocado and used Anaheim chilies (as that is what I had on hand) mixed with a jalapeno. Love it hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This dish was just ok. The cilantro was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Reminds me of home (South TX)! Extremely tasty and popular! I used both serrano and jalapeno peppers for kick, and added avocado and a little spicy V-8 juice in place of tomato sauce. Here in Arizona, they serve this on crispy tostadas. Gracias, Rey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The basic recipe really is good (hence the five-star rating), but my daughter and I like a bit of 'kick' in dishes such as this: We seeded only half the pepper, plus we made the adjustment recommended by another reviewer and added avocado. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was pretty good but it was missing something so I added cayenne pepper to my liking and 2 garlic cloves minced.Also I think this recipe is more for two, maybe we are just pigs. :) Perfecto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Amazing! I looove this recipe. I didn't change one single thing about it and it turned out great. The amount of spice was perfect for me, but of course you could add extra peppers for more. We just ate this with a fork right out of the bowl. Next time I am going to add avocado as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
It came out great! My husband and I both dislike fishy tastes, so I omitted the clam juice and instead of horseradish i put a bit of thousand island and i served it with margaritas and salted crackers gamesas! He really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Really good. VERY close to what I was looking for. This one is not too sweet like some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Highly recommended and will make again - especially good if you're following Weight Watcher's points - this is very good, very satisfying and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Freakin excellent. It is a great alternative to those old tired original style shrimp cocktail recipes. This is similiar to a ceviche. I added more of almost everything, but that was my personal preference. It was bright, colorful and very refreshing on a hot south Texas evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States