Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this 2 days in a row for different parties... doubled the recipe, added chunks of avacado both days.. 2nd day, had less time so, used ready made salsa instead of tomato sauce... I have to say, it was just as good, if not a little better. Did not have leftovers either day and numerous comments about how great it was. Both parties were large group potlucks and the Tejano Shrimp Cocktail was the most popular both times. This recipe is a real Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We followed it to a t, and our dinner guests raved about it! I'm doing a repeat request for easter actually. This was easy, healthy, cost effective and oh -- sooooo good! My five year old loved it as there wasn't any "sauce" he has to worry about either! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
definatly needed to add the avacado but other than t hat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I rate this on how much was left in the bowl--NONE! I don't eat shrimp but prepared this for a birthday celebration and ALL the shrimp lovers devoured it. The only change was made with substituting the serrano pepper with chopped jalapeno pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Oh wow, this was absolutely FABULOUS! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It tasted just like the shrimp cocktail I order at my favorite Mexican restaurant, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Crowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
it was good, not the best ceviche but decent. i think i need to tweak it a bit next time as it seemed too tomatoey. i also added avo, garlicminced and scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This sounds like a great way to go about preparing this dish, but all my tears growing up by the border I came accross a better way to make this years ago. It is traditional to also add the following ingredients:Add diced octopuss (real or artificial), add diced avacado, add Chamoy Salsa, salt, and Key limes to personal preferance of spice and flavor. Serv heaped and dripping on a Tostada shell with mayonase lightly spread accross it. Messy but Tastey!!!!!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved this - made for new years with fish tacos and texas caviar super great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
LOVE IT!!! I've made it twice already! The second time I decided to try the frozen shrimp so I bought the smaller already cooked shrimp. I also added avocado and I stuffed the shrimp cocktail into a pita pocket. It made an EXCELLENT lunch!! Very tasty and very healthy too!! I'm definitely making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States