Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love this recipe, but then, I LOVE the tangy taste of lime and cilantro.. easy, elegant, LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Reminds me of home (South TX)! Extremely tasty and popular! I used both serrano and jalapeno peppers for kick, and added avocado and Spicy Clamato juice in place of tomato sauce. Here in Arizona, they serve this on crispy tostadas. Gracias, Rey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've made this 4 times to bring to parties and it is always a huge success. Each time there were requests for the recipe. I have made it as is, and have also added avocado and an extra serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
If you want this hotter, use Mr. & Mrs. T-S Spicy tomato juice used for bloody Mary's instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
The recipe as written is pretty decent. I hate being one of those people that reviews a recipe after making a bunch of changes, but I did make a few modifications that I think bumped it up to 5 stars. I chopped half of a small white onion in place of the scallions (that's what I had on hand) and added a thickly chopped avocado, salt and freshly ground pepper, and a few dashes of worcestershire. Also I just kind of free handed the amount of cilantro, not sure what an ounce of cilantro looks like. However, it turned out amazing! I think it will be even better tomorrow once it has had time to marinate a bit. I will definitely make again with those minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I added a drained can of blackbeans....amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stijerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
so delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I served this instead of the traditional "Shrimp Cocktail" at a dinner party and it was very well received. Delicious flavor and very easy to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love this recipe...the only thing is, instead of using tomato sauce I use clamato juice. I also add a bit of tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is fantastic. I sometimes substitute spicey V8 juice for the tomato juice and it comes out perfect every time, but with an intense heat. Thank you Rey, it is perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States