Ted's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was a great recipe. I did substitute mushrooms for the peas and I added a bit extra on the seasoning but other then that everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great! This is just the stew recipe I've been looking for. I made no changes except for serving over rice. It was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe as stated but didn't add the peas. It was easy to throw together and put in the crock pot for a busy day. After tasting added some A1 and worcheshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It was both easy to prepare and a excellent stew. I did substitute venison for the beef since deer season had been kind to me. Since I have no small kids I also added a bit of Worstchestire and Texas Pete, to taste. I also didn't have any frozen peas but found a regular can of baby peas works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
A huge hit with my family! My husband rated it a 5, and he doesn't usually like beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great basic stew recipe! The other day i didnt have beef broth or beef stew meat so i substituted chicken broth and pork meat and it was great! Kind of like chicken pot pie without the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Made exactly as directed...I assume you meant English peas..thats what i used...anyway..next time I will use a little more carrots and potatoes...and about 2 more cups of beef broth along with 1 cup of vegetable broth..very good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
With the exception of swapping fresh mushrooms for the peas, I followed this recipe exactly. The vegetables were perfectly cooked, the consistency was great, but the stew didn't have one bit of flavor. I added some tomato paste and wine just before serving, which helped a little. I'd like to try this recipe again; maybe to figure out what went wrong. Also, personal preference, but the cornstarch seemed to give the stew a slimy feel. No one else commented on that, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow. I don't cook much and I am always looking for easy family recipes. I have all boys and this recipe with white rice was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
need to use stew meat,,, vavoom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States