Tea Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Graham
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is my all-time favorite cookie and make them for Christmas every year. This taste of this cookie is very similar to shortbread cookies, but softer and almost melt in your mouth. I don't know what went wrong with the other reviewer's batch, but I doubled the recipe and made these exactly as the recipe calls for, and these turned out PERFECT! There are a couple of things you might be tempted to do with this recipe that you have to refrain from doing. Don't make the cookies too large; they will grow and expand while baking. Also, you may be tempted to bake these too long because they won't look done, but that's the way they are supposed to look. They are NOT supposed to be brown at all. In this particular batch in the photo I used pecans instead of walnuts, but they are sumptuous either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This recipe is a sure-shot deal. No less than five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These cookies were delicious and exactly how I remembered my grandma's to be. I didn't find them to be dry at all - a little crumbly in dough form, but not when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These cookies are indeed excellent! I used fine ground walnuts, it came out so good, we could not stop eating! It really makes a difference if you have them in the refrigerator before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made these smaller, so there would be a small possibility of portion control... hopes were dashed, because I couldn't stop eating them. WONDERFUL cookie, though. But if you're going to make them smaller, do around seven minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SofiaSasparilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made these for a Christmas party and they never made it to the party! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Great cookies. I have always known these cookies as "Mexican Wedding Cakes". I used pecans instead of walnuts (I chopped the pecans very finely) and used half butter and half Crisco. I made very small cookies - this recipe made 45 cookies. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'm not much of a baker, and followed Linda's review and didn't let them brown and didn't make them to big.. I did use walnuts and they were YUMMIE.. I love this web site for me because as I said I'm not much of a cook or baker, and I need all the help I can get.. Thanks Linda for your helpful hints.. Nanner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
These came out great. Light, crumbly and I loved the nutty taste with the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvarin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Really scrumptious, and a snap to make. It just melts in your mouth so you can't stop eating it! FIL loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States