Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe is quick easy and delicious! the biscuits are flaky.I doubled the recipe and used canned milk- 1 can is 1 1/2 c which is perfect for doubling. I also replaced 1 cup of flour with wheat flour. Made this with BobJones gravy recipe also from this site. They have disappeared! My children inhaled these. Also good with honey which was resorted to when gravy was gone. I will make this recipe again and again and again.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaskGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My first attempt at biscuits and I won't try another recipe. These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly then added some cheddar cheese and garlic powder. Can't wait to try again with a little sugar and some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
really good, almost as good as Rita's MacNeils tea biscuits love and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniBeenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Fluffy, moist, and slightly golden brown. However they tasted so much of baking powder that we couldn't eat them. I thought maybe I screwed up, so I made them again. The second batch came out perfect looking and the taste was still just as bad as before. We had three people in the kitchen to double check the recipe so I know it wasn't me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a very good recipe, the biscuit were light and fuffy although there is a bit too much baking powder. So instead adding 4 teaspoons of baking powder I added 3 teaspoons of baking powder which was better. The biscuits came out just as good without that overpowering baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These turned out really well but quite salty. I ended up using butter rather than shortening. Not sure if the butter made it more flakey but it did make it taste very buttery. I rolled them out and let them rest for about half an hour before baking in hopes that they would rise more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Mm! Just a bit of butter & honey, made this the perfect tea time treat! This is a wonderful recipe!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGlamChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I am all about simplicity and used to make them help of the box kind ;). This is the first time I made them from scratch and don't know how often I will because they are so yummy I want to eat them all!!! Great for leftover turkey and gravy - oh the memories they bring back...mmmmm chomp, chomp mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zrye
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These biscuits were awesome. I love how quick and easy the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
March 30th, 2013 - I tried this recipe for the first time today. Based on all the feedback I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp., added 1/3 c. sugar, and used butter in place of the shortening. The first batch came out of the oven lightly browned, tasty and light. The recipe yielded 12 biscuits with not quite the height of the picture displayed in recipe. Since I needed at least 15 I repeated the recipe. Interestingly enough, even using the very same process, the dough was stickier. I used a smaller round cutter in an effort to get height and yield a few more biscuits, but they came out flatter then the first batch and not as flaky. It is surprising that a recipe can have such different results in two batches. Overall, I'm going to try them again. Hopefully they'll turn out like the first batch because they were really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States