Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Loved this recipe so much! I've been making the same old tea biscuit recipe thinking it was the best , that is until i tried this one, mmm delicious! The only problem for me was that it only made 12 and not 20, and maybe didnt rise as much as i wouldve liked, but i think i cut them a little too big. But in general this is a great recipe and i would highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I've been making the same baking powder biscuits for forty years and I THOUGHT they were pretty good until I tasted these. Yes, a little too salty, but an easy enough fix. Very lovely tasting biscuits with a slight crispness on the outside and a light texture. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
WONDERFUL!! These biscuits are so easy to make! The taste & texture are great as well! Instead of rolling out the dough and cutting into rounds, I simply pulled pieces of the dough apart and patted into 1/2 inch rounds. It saved time and turned out perfect! I don't bake with salted butter, only unsalted and the biscuits didn't come out too salty as noted by other reviewers. I also added 1/3 cup finely chopped ham and 1/3 cup of shredded cheese for a savoury biscuit - yummy! Next I'll try raisins. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This recipe is so simple and easy! My whole fmaily really enjoyed these. I have alsoadded some cheddar cheese or raisins to this recipe to add some extra flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I took one user suggestion and lessened the salt (as I used salted butter) by half. Besides that this recipe is perfect! My husband loves them plain, with butter or made with raisins baked in. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
its cooool my dad loved it sooo much but i had to add alot of flour to it to turn out good and also i added 3/4 cup of sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Easy, Fast and Great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These were super crumbly and yummy! I served these a side dish with dinner and instead of rolling the dough and cutting out biscuits, I just dropped clumps of dough on the baking sheet and they turned out fantastic with no leftover dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverdam, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Please tell me I did something wrong because these biscuits were so bitter I couldn't eat them... my baking powder says "double acting" - could that be it? everyone else seems to like these and they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars for such easy ingredients and instructions & my complete idiocy. I am not a baker and have only made drop type biscuits 3 or 4 times in my entire life and i've lived a long time. I used salted butter and this made the biscuits way too salty. I then made a half batch and left out the salt since the butter is salted. I added sugar to this batch because i was going to try to mix with the salty batch. Everything went well until I tried to roll out this dough. I ended up having a Lucille Ball episode. The sticky dough was everywhere. I decided to drop the biscuits into a muffin pan. I ended up with some pretty good biscuits, but definitely not the ones they were meant to be. I will have to try again - maybe take a rolled biscuits for dummies course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States