Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by MAEMAE3
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband made these today. He grew up with them and he said they taste exactly the same. He used butter (unsalted) instead of crisco. We had them with beef stew he made from this website yesterday. Wonderful together - biscuits and beef stew! I'm going to make some flavored butter (honey and butter) to go with his next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAEMAE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A no hassle can't fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These were some pretty good biscuits. They had a nice light texture. I am not sure where 20 servings came from? I got 10 biscuits at the 1/2 inch. thickness, with a standard biscuit cutter, and think it would be better to do about 3/4 inch. Instead of greasing a sheet I just used parchment paper. I liked that these did not seem heavy or greasy like some biscuit recipes. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! and equally loved how quick and easy it was. I did make some changes though, just to make it my own. Instead of shortening I used salted butter (that was all I had!) and I omitted the salt, since the butter had salt in it. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and about 3/4 cup of toffee bits. They turned out fabulously and my family has already eaten half of them (I took them out of the oven an hour ago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
As written they taste too much like shortening but the quantities are dead. As another reviewer suggested use half butter and you have a better tasting biscuit.....happy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made my mom's recipes for tea biscuits for years. It looks the same as this one. One thing I did change and it cut down on the prep work was rolling out the dough. I just drop by the table spoon and they are great. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I've used this recipe several times, and like many of the other reviews I've read, instead of using shortening I used butter. The butter gives it a nice taste. My family loves this biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Ooh, these are very yummy. I made the sweet version to use as dessert with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. I used butter as the shortening and added 1/2 cup white sugar, otherwise kept everything the same. They came out deliciously sweet. Those who prefer their sweets a little more savory would be fine with an addition of 1/4 sugar. I did find that 12 minutes was too long in my oven - I'd check them at 10 minutes to see how they're doing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
pretty good, they come out small though, certainly if you're going to make 20, I would make 10 larger ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
The first time I made these they were delightful except they became very chewy overnight so the next time I made them I stored them in a Tupperware container in the freezer and microwaved them for 5 seconds to make them warm. I also usually put extra butter in to make it soft and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States