Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I've used this recipe several times, and like many of the other reviews I've read, instead of using shortening I used butter. The butter gives it a nice taste. My family loves this biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Ooh, these are very yummy. I made the sweet version to use as dessert with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. I used butter as the shortening and added 1/2 cup white sugar, otherwise kept everything the same. They came out deliciously sweet. Those who prefer their sweets a little more savory would be fine with an addition of 1/4 sugar. I did find that 12 minutes was too long in my oven - I'd check them at 10 minutes to see how they're doing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
pretty good, they come out small though, certainly if you're going to make 20, I would make 10 larger ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
The first time I made these they were delightful except they became very chewy overnight so the next time I made them I stored them in a Tupperware container in the freezer and microwaved them for 5 seconds to make them warm. I also usually put extra butter in to make it soft and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I don't know what made me try this recipe. I have a good recipe already for biscuits. I was really disappointed with these and my husband thought they were inedible. They were just salty bitter hockey pucks. Sad too. I had some buckwheat honey that was collected that morning. I was really wanting a warm biscuit and fresh honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
SO Easy SOOO Good. I didn't have any shortening so I substituted margarine (I'm sure butter would work even better). I also had a bit of cream cheese (about a tablespoon) so I threw that in as well. I added a table spoons of brown sugar and I also used whole wheat flour. Sprinkled some flax seeds on top and these babies are flaky and light and delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made these for my co-workers - and they RAVED out them. Served up with homemade freshly picked strawberry jam - perfect. Even plain, they tasted great. For my own twist, just because I'm not always a fan of salt - I cut the salt in half, and added a tablespoon of sugar just to give them a little sweet kick for those who prefer no jam. Nothing but thumbs up from my hungry workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Good recipe, very quick and easy to make. I would add a little sugar next time, amybe a tbsp. Made 10 large biscuits, baking a few minutes longer than stated until they are just golden. Used for strawberry shortcakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
GREAT biscuit! I make these all the time when I want a nice, light, plain biscuit. They are soo easy and quick to make. They can easily be fancied up by adding cheese, or rasins depending on the use. I often serve them with Chicken a la king soup, they are a great companion! Just one thing to note: be carefull not to over mix or roll to aggresively. The more you work them the tougher they get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
very easy, moist and delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States