Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
A Keeper! Even the 4 year old liked them! Baked them at the request of hubby, next time will try cooking in oil. Just like the ones sold at the local fair! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
THank YOU!!! I have been trying for several years to duplicate the delicious piroshki recipe my late Grandmother, born and raised in Russia, used to make us as children. The night we made these my brother walked in and grabbed one. "THESE ARE THEM, THESE ARE THEM!!" It was a great acheivment after so many failed attempts that never even came close. I made so many batches night after night this holiday I think my family and friends finally had enough piroshi till next Christmas. My Mother reminded me that my Grandmother also used to make them with cabbage and hard boiled eggs. We did'nt do the eggs but we did have some with cabbage that were good. We also thought of using the dough but adding spaghetti sauce, peperoni and chese for an Italian version. (Sorry Grandma) Anyway if I never use another recipe again I will treasure this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Tried this one last night,what a winner! I remember eating these as a kid, glad to know good recipes are still out there. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Oh my goodness these were INCREDIBLE! Thank you so much taylor's mommy! I just love ethnic food so this was a no brainer for me to try; only thing was my little sisters didn't like it. I don't know why! But I did so I'll make it whether they approve or not! Do take the advice of another member and roll them out thinly. I used wheat flour and they turned out a beautiful golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe was authentic and delicious! The first batch lasted less than 24 hours. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Overall I give it a five this was delicious I add some mushrooms bacon bits with some cheese but it was great either way. Quickness I rated five because I alway prepare my indgredints before I make it by two hours so I just through it together eainess a five also because it goes in hand with Quckness. Kid friendly a five for obvious reasons Thankyou for giving us the recipe, I've never made these before, Im very impressed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm making 25 bag lunches for fishermen who will be out on a lake with no cooking facilities on Saturday. I decided to enclose the Easy Ham and Cheese sandwiches, using this Piroshki dough. Talk about excellent! The dough was pliable and soft enough to enclose the ham, cheese and sauce. It should be less messy for the guys than a regular sandwich. Thanks Taylor's mommy! I'll come back another day and make the filling that goes with this Piroshki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
THE BEST! Well worth the time spent making them! A huge hit with my family! My picky 2 year old couldn't get enough! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I have never tried to make anything like this before, but I will definitely be making this over and over! It was a huge hit with my hubby and even my picky nephews! It does take a little time to make, but it's so simple and absolutely worth the extra time. I'm not usually a big fan of dill, but it was a perfect compliment to this recipe! I fried some and baked some (brushed the baked ones with a little melted butter after baking) and they were terrific both ways! It makes a really big batch so we still have a lot in the freezer, but I'm sure they won't last long! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
We had a bunch of neighbors over and made these, it's a great recipe! Cheese would be the perfect addition, but don't overdo it. We halved the recipe and still had plenty to go around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States