Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. I only made half and deep fried it. I did add some oregano and green chile sauce because the meat seemed too dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I will have to try it again and make some alterations to perfect this recipe. I have a severe gluten allergy, so I used King Arthur GF flour for the base, which may have accounted for some of the texture issues--(yeast doesn't work as well with gluten-less flour). Usually this brand of flour can be subbed for anything and you can't really tell a difference. I heavily seasoned the meat and added sour cream and shredded cheddar after reading other reviews that the meat was somewhat dry and bland. I think this filling tasted very good, but I think it would have been a much better texture if you put it through a fine meat grinder to get rid of the 'graininess' that ground beef has and make it more like a mincemeat or ravioli filling. My dough rose a little, but didn't get the extreme fluffiness that I think it should have had. I used rapid rise yeast and let it rise over an hour. It had the texture more like a dense biscuit wrapper than a fluffy bun like I remember piroshki having. I fried some and baked some; the fried definitely had a much better flavor. I found the bread to be overly dense, dry, and a tad bit bland--I will try this recipe again maybe with a different flour or yeast and see if I can get the fluffiness into the bread--I'm sure those of you making it with regular will get the right texture. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I loved these and so did my guests! I took the suggestion to add a little stock. I added veggie stock because it was what I had on hand. I just added it right in the meat while the onions were cooking- about half a box. I just let it cook into the meat so it was really juicy. I also used fresh dill, not dried. I also used Rhodes dinner rolls instead of making the dough because I was on a time crunch. They worked perfectly! The Piroshki were juicy, so flavorful and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Everyone loved these for Christmas. I fried half and baked the other half on a little cornmeal on the pan. We preferred the baked ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I substituted whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This recipe is great! But what my Baba used to do is... Melt 1 cup butter, 2 Tbsp dill weed and 4 cloves garlic in a bowl (Microwave). and instead of deep frying, you bake them for 12 minutes with the buttery mixture lightly ontop. And when they come out, coat them again or use the butter/garlic as a dipping sauce! They taste amazing! (She also made them quite smaller too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Hubby and I made these for dinner tonight. The dough is a dream to work with, once I added about 3/4 of a cup more flour. Mixed in the KitchenAid. I did cheat a bit, as we made these more calzone sized for dinner, and left out the dill, as my husband hates it. We did add a bit of shredded cheese and sliced olives. Delish! Hopefully, these freeze well, as we had some leftover that I haven't cooked yet. Perfect ratio of dough to filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe is FANTASTIC! For a truly authentic Russian taste add DILL. When you think you have added enough dill....add some more. I also added minced garlic as well and about 1/2 cup beef broth in the meat while I cooked it. Perfect result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robby1974

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
So good- and the leftovers freeze great. Also, using ham and cheese for the filling came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Terrific recipe! I need to adjust my techniques - but my taste testers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States