Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Very good recipe- similar to the ones not available anymore in the market at Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. I found it helpful not to overlap the edges of the dough a lot when wrapping, so the dough cooks through without over-browning them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful! Many many years ago when I was a teenager, my best friend and I used to live on Piroshki we would buy at a local deli in N. Ca. I loved them and ate them several times a week. Now that I live in Ky, it is rare to find anyone who has ever even heard of Piroshki. This recipe is only perfect duplication of the proshki that I remember from my childhood. Not only are they wonderful, but for me, the ultimate comfort food! Thank You Taylor's Mommy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
We had a bunch of neighbors over and made these, it's a great recipe! Cheese would be the perfect addition, but don't overdo it. We halved the recipe and still had plenty to go around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I have never tried to make anything like this before, but I will definitely be making this over and over! It was a huge hit with my hubby and even my picky nephews! It does take a little time to make, but it's so simple and absolutely worth the extra time. I'm not usually a big fan of dill, but it was a perfect compliment to this recipe! I fried some and baked some (brushed the baked ones with a little melted butter after baking) and they were terrific both ways! It makes a really big batch so we still have a lot in the freezer, but I'm sure they won't last long! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Oh my goodness these were INCREDIBLE! Thank you so much taylor's mommy! I just love ethnic food so this was a no brainer for me to try; only thing was my little sisters didn't like it. I don't know why! But I did so I'll make it whether they approve or not! Do take the advice of another member and roll them out thinly. I used wheat flour and they turned out a beautiful golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
EUREKA! This recipe does taste like the piroshkis I remember eating in my childhood when I would be treated to piroshkis at my friend's russian grandmother's house. They were always fondly remembered but never duplicated until now. Mine turned out a little dry, perhaps I drained the meat too well? I'm looking at other web sites now for similar recipes, and one says a russian chef told her that dryness is a problem, the chef adds bits of suet in the meat or chopped up frozen beef stock. Another recipe adds beef stock and butter to the meat to make it wetter. Some recipes add chopped up hard boiled eggs. I notice reviewers here added cheese. I cut mine open and added some cheese and it tasted good. Roll your dough thin, thinner is better, it puffs up thicker when you fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Tried this one last night,what a winner! I remember eating these as a kid, glad to know good recipes are still out there. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
A Keeper! Even the 4 year old liked them! Baked them at the request of hubby, next time will try cooking in oil. Just like the ones sold at the local fair! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
THE BEST! Well worth the time spent making them! A huge hit with my family! My picky 2 year old couldn't get enough! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm making 25 bag lunches for fishermen who will be out on a lake with no cooking facilities on Saturday. I decided to enclose the Easy Ham and Cheese sandwiches, using this Piroshki dough. Talk about excellent! The dough was pliable and soft enough to enclose the ham, cheese and sauce. It should be less messy for the guys than a regular sandwich. Thanks Taylor's mommy! I'll come back another day and make the filling that goes with this Piroshki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States