Tava or Turkish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Good base but needs more flavor; I added spices (paprika, oregano) and some green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Line

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Wasn't impressed, wasn't depressed. I thought it missed the mark for Tava though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was delicious, though next time I would use only about 10oz of cheese, and maybe more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I had wondered what was missing from my tava recipe, and the red pepper paste was it. Thanks, Carrie, for the wonderful recipe. It tastes exactly like I remember it from Incirlik.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Oh so good! Awesome! I followed Carries recipe instead of the edited one. It was fantastic! Dont forget the salt though, because I tried to leave it out and it was too bland. Next time I might add a little bit of italian sausage! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is very easy, healthy, and reheats well. I cooked the chicken in olive oil and red pepper paste. It gives it a little more flavor. I also added some crushed red peppers or the Turkish version (not sure of the name). I've eaten it as a soup, over rice, and even over noodles. Very versatile dish! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
As per the originator of the recipe, I cut the chicken into cubes and placed them in the casserole with the rest of the ingredients - raw. Oven at 350F, I cooked it for 35 min + 10 min to melt the cheese. Chicken was still raw when served. Had to 'nuke' the plates in the microwave. Either add another 15 min or saute in a skillet (like the editor said). I found the dish to lack in flavour (I thought the roasted red bell pepper would really added flavour). Would have given a 3* - my girlfriend liked it better - therefore the 4*. Great for low calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a perfect replica of what is served in Turkey outside of the base!!! I do add more garlic and I use chunks of it instead of minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made this last night with the recommendations of the author (uncooked chicken, didn't drain the canned tomatoes), and it was WONDERFUL! I will definitely make this again. I didn't have as much mozzarella on hand as the recipe called for and it was still plenty (could use 8 oz easily). The chicken was perfectly cooked and moist and the sauce was divine. Had last-minute dinner guest and he loved it as well. A+++ Thanks for this great recipe that will go into my top shelf rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We add peeled shrimp and peppers and make it in individual clay dishes like we received when we ordered the Tava in Turkey. This makes it easy to customize the dish to each persons palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States