Tater Tot Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I was in need of a quick meal when I found this one, I did not have all the ingredients so I made some changes used refried beans and easy melt cheese. Turned out great. My family loves spicy foods and my picky little eater loved it too. Also I precooked the tater tots while browning the meat, sped things way up. Total cook and prep was about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
A nice twist on the traditional tater tot casserole! I used the Taco Seasoning I on this site and my homemade red enchilada sauce, along with Crispy Crowns. I layered everything: pre-baked tots, a few ladles of enchilada sauce, shredded cheddar, meat/bean/corn/cheese mixture, and a final layering of sauce, then cheese. I subbed my mother-in-law's pinto beans (as they're just far better than canned black beans!) and only 1 cup of frozen corn. I liked mine with sour cream and crushed Doritos on top. Hubby loaded his with homemade HOT salsa, but 4 year-old DD wasn't too impressed. Easy, filling comfort food especially on a cold, snowy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My husband, who is not a tater tot fan, absolutely loved this! I added olives to the top of mine and next time I will add a layer of tater tots to the top like some other reviewers did, since those were my kids favorite part of it. I wouldn't think of leaving out the onion or garlic, it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
really tasty, really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
rodger and i love this recipe would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
this is soooo good and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
YUMMY! I added some fresh cilantro an served w/ sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrf70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Glasgow, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Muy excelente! I followed the recipe exactly as written with 3 small exceptions: 1) I couldn't find Mexican-style corn at the grocery so I used regular 2) I added a couple of seeded, diced Jalapeno's for a little added zing and 3) I assembled it a little differently. Instead of mixing everything together as it calls for in step 3 I added the enchilada sauce in step 2, poured the entire mixture when heated into a baking dish and then topped it with the cheese and finally the tater tots which I topped with a little taco sauce. I strongly suggest serving with a little sour cream as well. Takes it right off the charts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
cheesy comfort food at it's finest! I used ground turkey instead of beef, used low sodium taco seasoning, omitted the corn since I figured the potatoes were starchy enough and served it topped with plain greek yogurt. This is definitely on my splurge list and may make it for an upcoming potluck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
"It's on the hit list!"~hubby "Yummy!"~kids Try this. Really. I didn't have any black beans, so I used pinto. Used regular frozen corn because my store doesn't have mexican. I also had mini tater tots instead of regular, but I think they worked out better because you didn't end up getting a big bite of potato. It made quite a bit and was a breeze to whip together. Fed 2 adults, teenage boy and 2 younger girls with enough leftovers for lunch the next day (even though everyone really liked it). Reheated very nicely also. Thanks Mama for a great family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States