Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was VERY good. I made a few additions myself. Along with everything called for here, I added a can of cheddar cheese soup and a tsp. garlic powder. I also mixed in 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I found it easier to throw all ingredients into a large mixing bowl, brown and drain the beef and onion, add to the mixing bowl and toss everything well. Then transfer to the baking dish. I took this out to stir every 15 minutes because my tater tots were not completely thawed. This helped, as well as helped the tots to crumble a bit and mix well with everything else. I liked that effect. For the last 15 minutes I topped with more shredded cheese and the french fried onions. This was AWESOME! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Lemrise Just

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I sampled a tator tot like casserole at a potluck dinner I attended last night. After the first bite, and even though it was a little cold, I knew I had to find a similar recipe. There were plenty to choose from at allrecipes, but I'm glad I picked the one I did. It was exceptional, easily a 5 star recipe--as casseroles go. I used a pound of hamburger and a pound of sausage. I usually feel like there isn't enough meat in a dish like this. Adding the extra meat was a good move. Fearing there wouldn't be enough soup and that the casserole would be too dry, I added what I thought was another can of mushroom soup. After I opened it, I discovered it was cream of chicken, not cream of mushroom. Never fear, there is margin for error in this dish, but I loved the way this turned out. The flavor was amazing. The tots disintegrated into the mix and it was an absolutely fabulous layout. Talk about comfort food! I served this with some leftover Cheddar Biscuits, the recipe of which is also available at this website--for a meal I won't soon forget. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This recipe hit the spot. I seasoned the beef and onions with garlic powder while browning, added shredded cheddar and green beans between the meat and tots, used Healthy Request soup to lower the sodium and fat, and also used onion flavored tots. We loved the way it turned out. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a fine recipe, however, once I ground the hamburger (with the onion and garlic), I add the soup - almost any "cream of" will work - 2 cans. I also add a couple of cups of mixed vegetables to the mixture. You can do any combo, but the traditional is the green beans, carrots, corn. Then you layer your baking dish with tator tots - then cover with shredded cheddar cheese - then put the hamburger mixture over that. Cover with more cheese and top with tator tots. This is easily one of the favorite fall/winter comfort meals for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarrissa Dupre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
A great all around dish! My Boyfriend is from up north and says this is a mainstay. I added a can of peas, can of corn, and a can of mushrooms to the soup before pouring over tots. Turns out great everytime and dissapears quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This turned out awful. I baked it for one hour and the hamburger on the bottom was burnt. Guess I should have checked it before the hour was up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I saw this dish the newspaper for a Durkee Onion ad. I add a layer of chopped cooked broccoli and a layer of fresh chopped tomatoes. 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese is mixed with the soups. At the last 5-10 minutes baking, add shredded cheddar cheese to the top + some reserved onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I added Grated chedder cheese to the sauce mix. If you do this there is no need to salt the recipe. It did seem to cook much faster than indicatedd in the recipe, so check it often. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a great dinner that can be made ahead of time and frozen for a quick but tasty busy night meal. Leave French fried onions off until the last 30 minutes of baking. (Remember not to put a frozen glass pan in a hot oven because it might break). Bake at 350 degrees for 1hour and 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Very good and easy. Serve with salad and applesauce and you have a full meal. I didn't have cream of celery soup, so I diced up 2 ribs of celery, threw that into the hamburg while it was cooking, and substitued a can of cheddar cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States