Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I made this last night for my family (including my husband who "hates casseroles") and they LOVED it. I was surprised that the tots disintegrated, because other tot casserole recipes I've made didn't do that - but it was ok - it actually added to the overall yumminess of the dish, and made me realize I could use shredded hashbrowns in a pinch if I didn't have tots. I did modify slightly - used more meat, added 2 cans (drained) of french style green beans, and topped with cheddar cheese over the french fried onions. The cheese and onions made this wonderfully cheesy/crispy top layer, that my husband said he'd have loved to eat alone! It was great. I highly recommend this dish for anybody with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Very good and super easy to make! I added one can of drained corn and american cheese slices below the potato layer. I didn't thaw the tator tots, and it didn't seem to make any difference. I also upped the amount of pepper as we like a lot of black pepper. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was great,tasty and makes alot!! I put the fried onion rings on 10 minutes before serving and it turned out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Good took the suggestion to mix in part of the soup to the beef. Also added shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a great dinner that can be made ahead of time and frozen for a quick but tasty busy night meal. Leave French fried onions off until the last 30 minutes of baking. (Remember not to put a frozen glass pan in a hot oven because it might break). Bake at 350 degrees for 1hour and 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Awesome Added 1 packet of Onion soup mix to ground angus, 1 bulb oven roasted garlic bulb and mixed chesse with the french fried onions YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I made a smaller portion of this recipe for my husband and I. I also used some suggestions and took 1/2 of the soup mix and added it to the meat until well blended. Then with the other 1/2 of the soup I added some milk to make it more creamy then added it on top of the tater tots. I added a little chdr chz to the dish too. Served with a side of mixed veggies, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BasiaBoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is super easy and really good. It's kid and husband friendly. All I added was a little bit of garlic powder and some cheddar cheese. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I changed this recipe slightly. On top of the meat layer I put some spinach,feta cheese and cheddar. The soup mixture:I added to it 1 can of milk for more moistness and I omitted the salt. My husband Loved this recipe and asked to save it. He never does that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Good and easy meal, suggest mixing burger with cram of mushroom and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molson13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States