Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe was very good but a little plain. I added peas, onions, and carrots. It tasted veeeerryy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Definitely close to a 5 star as written, but I added a few things to add to the flavor profile. 1lb lean ground beef browned with 2 teaspoons of minced garlic, white pepper, black pepper both to taste, 2tsp of Worchestershire sauce, and 1/2tsp of liquid smoke. Mixed soups, and meat together, add 1 cup of frozen broccoli cuts, 1 cup of frozen sweet corn to soups/meat. Cover bottom of 9x13 casserole dish, only had 1/2 a bag of tater tots so placed them on top, and then sprinkled the fried onion rings over the entire dish. Popped it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes uncovered. Left the cheese out completely, and it was great. Thanks for a great base recipe, and a quick & easy dinner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was great. I followed some of the other reviewer suggestions. I added a can of cheddar cheese soup and about 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I also used ground turkey. I skipped the fried onion topping. Yum! My picky son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We love this dish! It's pretty easy for a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used the base of this recipe for my hot dish, but I altered it a bit based on other reviews. I added a bag of steam veggies with corn, pea, beans and carrots and also 2 stalks of celery finely chopped. Also, instead of using cream of mushroom or celery I used 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup. I think next time I'd add another can of soup though because mine turned out a bit dry. Otherwise, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancerbabe2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this on a snowy saturday night!! I found the kids and hubby picking at left overs an hour later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was looking very forward to this after all the reviews, and ended up rather disappointed. Mine turned out very salty, and I didn't even add salt, just pepper. I did add an extra can of cheddar soup, as others recommended, and mixed the soups with the ground beef. But other than that, no extra ingredients or changes. Maybe it's because I'm a southern girl and not used to this type of food, but the whole family (including my 16 month-old) ate up the sides (peas and carrots) and left the main dish almost untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is an amazing staple recipe!! I did do as one reviewer suggested and used one can cream of mushroom, one can cream of mushroom and chicken and one can cheddar cheesse soup and about 1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese also, but this was the best and every member of my family cleaned their plate. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Z.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I thought it was good. I did make a couple changes. I added jack & chedder cheese I also added a little garlic powder to give it a little more flavor. It is a good thing I checked it early because the ground beef had already started burning with 20 min. left on the timer. May try again if I do I will defiantly only cook about 30 min, instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My family loved it! I added corn, garlic, paprika, chili powder and season all to the meat. Added milk and replaced Cream of celery with cream of cheddar, and it was really good. I think the seasoning helped give it some flavor, cause i can see it being bland without it. I also added shredded cheddar to the soup mix and the tator tots on top. My boyfriend doesn't like crispy onions, so for added crisp, having the tators on top made it a good medium. I also had it for lunch a couple of days later, and it was even better, just like good comfort food should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States