Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Excellent kid friendly recipe. I also added garlic powder to the ground meat and a layer of shredded cheddar cheese over the tater tots before I added the soup mixture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was great! I used moose burger and added a handful of cheese. Next time I would omit the extra salt if I use cheese- even so the whole pan was devoured. So far everyone that has tasted this has asked for the recipe, more proof that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a fine recipe, however, once I ground the hamburger (with the onion and garlic), I add the soup - almost any "cream of" will work - 2 cans. I also add a couple of cups of mixed vegetables to the mixture. You can do any combo, but the traditional is the green beans, carrots, corn. Then you layer your baking dish with tator tots - then cover with shredded cheddar cheese - then put the hamburger mixture over that. Cover with more cheese and top with tator tots. This is easily one of the favorite fall/winter comfort meals for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarrissa Dupre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe! My husband also commented that he liked it! It was very flavorful and easy to make. I did use 2 cans of cream of celery because I do not like mushrooms. I also added cheese on top of the meat - under the Tate tots- and then some on top with the French fried onions. This will definitely be in my regular rounds of dinners. Thanks for sharing it with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used garlic salt rather than the table salt while I cooked the ground beef. I also put shredded cheddar cheese on top of the tots before adding the french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
A classic that I grew up on - but my 10 & 12 year olds never had. Although they didn't know what to think (it looks gross) - they loved it! I added a can of corn and 1/2 bag of cheddar cheese. Also put the tots on top (I like them crunchy). Only needs 45 minutes in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is so easy and it tastes great. The leftovers are easy to heat up and taste even better after the ingredients sit together for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonTN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This turned out great, however I used ground turkey. Tastes just like tater tot hot dish should.. and it tastes even better with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I thought I was going to dislike this recipe. After all, I've tried 3 or 4 tater tot / hashbrown recipes lately and haven't been particularly fond of any of them... but when I tried this, wow! I love this recipe. I did alter it a bit, but I think the use of hamburger is what makes this so good. Most other tater tot / hashbrown recipes I've come across call for sausage, which I don't particularly like with potatoes. I used the whole bag of tater tots (even though I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings), substituted a can of cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom, and left off the fried onion rings. I mixed the beef and onion up with the soups, layered 3 cups of reduced fat cheddar cheese over it, and placed the tater tops on top. Having the tots on top allowed them to get crisp, which made the dish even more enjoyable. It also reheats well! I will definitely make this again. However, next time, I will only cook it for 45 minutes. When I took it out of the oven after one hour, the hamburger/soup mixture was beginning to become burnt to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My hubby LOVED this recipe. I added cheese after the ground beef and some seasonings, but it was very good and was great for lunches and leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States