Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was looking for something quick and easy that used items I had on hand and this fit the bill so I decided to try it out. I can maybe see that this would be popular at a potluck or something-where people are only taking a spoonful and eating with other things. As a stand alone main course though, it was fairly unappetizing. It looked ok in the pan but when served on the plate, it was just a pile of slop, not very pretty to look at. But, beyond appearances, the main problem I had was how salty it is. The soups, the fried onions, and the tator tots combine to make it so salty that none of us could eat more than a few bites-and I didn't even add the extra salt called for in the recipe. I did add green beans and cheese as some other reviewers recommended. I guess this just wasn't my family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It was easy and the kids ate it, but the hubby didn't care for it and I thought it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Excellent - easy - fast! What could be better (okay healthy would be better)! This dish is definetly a crowd pleaser I have made it about 4 times now according to the directions and a couple times with some variances depending on what I got in the cupboard. My husband AND 4 kids love it - it is easy to put together - I'm bringing it to a potluck tonight. I would definetly reccomend this one - it is a frequently used recipe everyone enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe! My boyfriend makes a version of this and adds 1/2 cup sour cream to the soup along with just a little milk to make it creamier...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
As recommended, I used extra ground beef in this recipe. Everyone at the table agreed that this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I tried this mostly out of curiosity because I had heard it referenced on that "13 and Pregnant Again" show, thinking of the recipe as an oddity, much like the family from the show. Well, turns out it was a super crowd-pleaser (especially with the short ones), so I suppose I will make it again--just not soon since it's so fattening. As other reviewers suggested, I cooked the tots first, added a bit of garlic powder to the beef, and added about a cup of cheese over the tots before layering the soup. OH! and if I had it to do over again I would have held the fried onions out until 15 minutes before it was done. I had to foil them to keep them from burning. Overall, good comfort food. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We loved this topped with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this recipe as directed with just one change--I added a can of drained green beans on top of the ground beef. It could have used a little more soup, so next time I will use 3 cans instead of 2, but it was a great casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManxGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Not a big hit for me and my husband - it is just kinda bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this dish, it was good for the most part. I added a clove of garlic with the onion and added some cheddar cheese with the soups. It was good, but it was a little salty for my taste. Other than that, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States