Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was excellent! After reading other reviews, this is what I did and it was the best tater tot casserole I've ever had: I used 2 lbs of beef. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery. I mixed the onions in with the soup instead of sauteing them with the meat. I added 1 cup of sour cream to the soup mixture. I then put the soup mixture into a saucepan and simmered while the beef was browning (I'm not sure if that made a difference or not). I added 1 Tblsp minced garlic to the meat with the salt and pepper. Since there were complaints about the beef burning, I mixed the beef together with the soup mixture. I sprayed my aluminum pan, then poured the soup/beef mixture into the pan and topped with the tater tots (so they would be crispy). I did not top the dish with the french-fried onions until the casserole cooked for 1/2 hour. Then it only needed another 20 minutes to cook (for a total of 50 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. I used cheddar soup instead of the mushroom soup, and also added some garlic powder and some corn in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very solid hotdish. I used cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of celery because it is what I had on hand (and who doesn't like cheese anyway). I also added some garlic powder to personal taste. Tasty and simple, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Really quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
as is this was not very good. I mixed the soups and the hamburger with a package of frozen veggies. I used additional spices to enhance the flavor (original mrs. dash) After stirring the stuff together I then layered the tatertots on TOP of the hotdish. this way they got crispy as the hotdish cooked in the oven. I ommitted the onions on the top because the tatertots where on top and they crisped up nicely... I grew up putting ketchup on this hotdish and continue to do so as an adult... When the tatertots are mixed into the soup mixture they get mushy... put them on top and the dish is much more enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very Tasty! My boyfriend ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This reoipe was ok. Don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was looking for something quick and easy that used items I had on hand and this fit the bill so I decided to try it out. I can maybe see that this would be popular at a potluck or something-where people are only taking a spoonful and eating with other things. As a stand alone main course though, it was fairly unappetizing. It looked ok in the pan but when served on the plate, it was just a pile of slop, not very pretty to look at. But, beyond appearances, the main problem I had was how salty it is. The soups, the fried onions, and the tator tots combine to make it so salty that none of us could eat more than a few bites-and I didn't even add the extra salt called for in the recipe. I did add green beans and cheese as some other reviewers recommended. I guess this just wasn't my family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It was easy and the kids ate it, but the hubby didn't care for it and I thought it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Excellent - easy - fast! What could be better (okay healthy would be better)! This dish is definetly a crowd pleaser I have made it about 4 times now according to the directions and a couple times with some variances depending on what I got in the cupboard. My husband AND 4 kids love it - it is easy to put together - I'm bringing it to a potluck tonight. I would definetly reccomend this one - it is a frequently used recipe everyone enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States