Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Surprisingly, we loved it!!! I think it needs some veggies next time, either green beans or Veg-All mixed in with the soups, maybe add some cheddar cheese and sour cream or an extra can of soup??? I served with salad because this is nothing but meat and potatoes. I pretty much made as written except I substitued cream of chicken instead of mushroom and added minced garlic to the meat and onions. I also added the fried onions the last 20 minutes so they wouldn't burn. Like others, some of the meat did get a little dark brown (not burnt) on the bottom but I think it added more flavor to the dish and more texture too. And I like how the soups are poured OVER the tots because they did not completely cover the tots so some were crispy some were not, it was great that way! I wouldn't want ALL the tots to be crispy, it is a casserole after all! It was super easy, will make again soon with the additions and update my review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was excellent! After reading other reviews, this is what I did and it was the best tater tot casserole I've ever had: I used 2 lbs of beef. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery. I mixed the onions in with the soup instead of sauteing them with the meat. I added 1 cup of sour cream to the soup mixture. I then put the soup mixture into a saucepan and simmered while the beef was browning (I'm not sure if that made a difference or not). I added 1 Tblsp minced garlic to the meat with the salt and pepper. Since there were complaints about the beef burning, I mixed the beef together with the soup mixture. I sprayed my aluminum pan, then poured the soup/beef mixture into the pan and topped with the tater tots (so they would be crispy). I did not top the dish with the french-fried onions until the casserole cooked for 1/2 hour. Then it only needed another 20 minutes to cook (for a total of 50 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. I used cheddar soup instead of the mushroom soup, and also added some garlic powder and some corn in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very solid hotdish. I used cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of celery because it is what I had on hand (and who doesn't like cheese anyway). I also added some garlic powder to personal taste. Tasty and simple, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Really quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
as is this was not very good. I mixed the soups and the hamburger with a package of frozen veggies. I used additional spices to enhance the flavor (original mrs. dash) After stirring the stuff together I then layered the tatertots on TOP of the hotdish. this way they got crispy as the hotdish cooked in the oven. I ommitted the onions on the top because the tatertots where on top and they crisped up nicely... I grew up putting ketchup on this hotdish and continue to do so as an adult... When the tatertots are mixed into the soup mixture they get mushy... put them on top and the dish is much more enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very Tasty! My boyfriend ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This reoipe was ok. Don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was looking for something quick and easy that used items I had on hand and this fit the bill so I decided to try it out. I can maybe see that this would be popular at a potluck or something-where people are only taking a spoonful and eating with other things. As a stand alone main course though, it was fairly unappetizing. It looked ok in the pan but when served on the plate, it was just a pile of slop, not very pretty to look at. But, beyond appearances, the main problem I had was how salty it is. The soups, the fried onions, and the tator tots combine to make it so salty that none of us could eat more than a few bites-and I didn't even add the extra salt called for in the recipe. I did add green beans and cheese as some other reviewers recommended. I guess this just wasn't my family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It was easy and the kids ate it, but the hubby didn't care for it and I thought it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States