Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was wonderful. Tossed it together and it was not how I expected it to be, but wonderful taste. My husband LOVED it! The onions on the top are a lovely added crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very good for an easy, surprisingly tasty dinner. I like to put my tater tots on the bottom and pour about 1/2 cup of KETCHUP over them. Then I mix the ground beef (cooked with a little onion, garlic and green pepper, and seasoned with salt, pepper, paprika and cayenne) with the crm of mush and crm of celery and about 3/4 cup of milk... along with a can of corn. I didn't use the french fried onions, but I sprinkled the top with shredded cheddar. My boyfriend does not get too excited about this "midwest" sort of fare, but he actually really liked it... and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
My husband introduced me to the idea of Tater Tot casserole. Great comfort food. I gave it 5 because while it might not be my favorite food, my family LOVE it. I skipped the french fried onion rings, and added cheese to the meat mixture, and sprinkled it on the top for the last 5 minutes. I baked it at 400 to cut down on cooking time (about 35 minutes) and everything was warm and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Good..but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yummy! I can't believe how great it turned out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is delicious! I have yet to tweek my own recipes. But great job none the less! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyzNikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a very satisfying comfort food that really invokes that classic hotdish flavor. With ideas from the other reviewers and a few of my own, I made some modifications. On ingredients I used 2 lbs of ground beef, a few handfuls of frozen vegetable medley (peas, carrots, green beans, and corn), cheddar cheese, and I omitted the french onions. I layered a few (maybe 1/4 of the bag) tater tots on the bottom for integrated tot flavor, then I added the ground beef/onion layer, then the vegetable layer, then the cheese layer, then the soup layer, and finally topped it off with the remaining tater tots. It turned out really well, and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was great with a few alterations. First I baked the tots 20 minutes. After I browned the ground beef with onions, garlic powder and black pepper, I added approx half of the soup mixture and milk (I used one cream of mushroom and one cream of chicken because that's what I had handy) Then I mixed the rest of the soup mixture along with a cup of mild cheddar and a little pepper into the tots. I spread the ground beef mixture on the bottom of my baking pan and then spread the tator tot mixture on top. I baked it up until it was golden brown and bubbly, but I left off the french fried onions. It was absolutely great. Note: no need to add any salt, I think the soup had just enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We loved the recipe although I made modifications. I used ground italian sausage because my husband does not like beef and I added fennel and celery to the beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The recipe as is would get 3 stars. Skip the salt - the soup has plenty. I chopped half an onion to cook with the beef and put that in the bottom of the pan and covered with half the tots. I mixed a can of Ro-tel into the soup and poured over the tots then sprinkled on a layer of grated cheddar and baked for 20 min. Added the remainder of the tots and baked 25 min to brown nicely. I didn't think the uncrisped tots under the sauce would be good, but my family loved the combination and they were cooked perfectly. This one is a keeper for the comfort food category!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States