Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Good..but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yummy! I can't believe how great it turned out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is delicious! I have yet to tweek my own recipes. But great job none the less! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyzNikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a very satisfying comfort food that really invokes that classic hotdish flavor. With ideas from the other reviewers and a few of my own, I made some modifications. On ingredients I used 2 lbs of ground beef, a few handfuls of frozen vegetable medley (peas, carrots, green beans, and corn), cheddar cheese, and I omitted the french onions. I layered a few (maybe 1/4 of the bag) tater tots on the bottom for integrated tot flavor, then I added the ground beef/onion layer, then the vegetable layer, then the cheese layer, then the soup layer, and finally topped it off with the remaining tater tots. It turned out really well, and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was great with a few alterations. First I baked the tots 20 minutes. After I browned the ground beef with onions, garlic powder and black pepper, I added approx half of the soup mixture and milk (I used one cream of mushroom and one cream of chicken because that's what I had handy) Then I mixed the rest of the soup mixture along with a cup of mild cheddar and a little pepper into the tots. I spread the ground beef mixture on the bottom of my baking pan and then spread the tator tot mixture on top. I baked it up until it was golden brown and bubbly, but I left off the french fried onions. It was absolutely great. Note: no need to add any salt, I think the soup had just enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We loved the recipe although I made modifications. I used ground italian sausage because my husband does not like beef and I added fennel and celery to the beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The recipe as is would get 3 stars. Skip the salt - the soup has plenty. I chopped half an onion to cook with the beef and put that in the bottom of the pan and covered with half the tots. I mixed a can of Ro-tel into the soup and poured over the tots then sprinkled on a layer of grated cheddar and baked for 20 min. Added the remainder of the tots and baked 25 min to brown nicely. I didn't think the uncrisped tots under the sauce would be good, but my family loved the combination and they were cooked perfectly. This one is a keeper for the comfort food category!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was pretty good. Just not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Surprisingly, we loved it!!! I think it needs some veggies next time, either green beans or Veg-All mixed in with the soups, maybe add some cheddar cheese and sour cream or an extra can of soup??? I served with salad because this is nothing but meat and potatoes. I pretty much made as written except I substitued cream of chicken instead of mushroom and added minced garlic to the meat and onions. I also added the fried onions the last 20 minutes so they wouldn't burn. Like others, some of the meat did get a little dark brown (not burnt) on the bottom but I think it added more flavor to the dish and more texture too. And I like how the soups are poured OVER the tots because they did not completely cover the tots so some were crispy some were not, it was great that way! I wouldn't want ALL the tots to be crispy, it is a casserole after all! It was super easy, will make again soon with the additions and update my review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was excellent! After reading other reviews, this is what I did and it was the best tater tot casserole I've ever had: I used 2 lbs of beef. I used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery. I mixed the onions in with the soup instead of sauteing them with the meat. I added 1 cup of sour cream to the soup mixture. I then put the soup mixture into a saucepan and simmered while the beef was browning (I'm not sure if that made a difference or not). I added 1 Tblsp minced garlic to the meat with the salt and pepper. Since there were complaints about the beef burning, I mixed the beef together with the soup mixture. I sprayed my aluminum pan, then poured the soup/beef mixture into the pan and topped with the tater tots (so they would be crispy). I did not top the dish with the french-fried onions until the casserole cooked for 1/2 hour. Then it only needed another 20 minutes to cook (for a total of 50 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzimmermann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States