Tater Tot Hot Dish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a simple and great fall dish. Why not add some veggies for color and vitamins?? I cooked the meat with onions and garlic. To the recipe I added sweet corn, chopped broccoli and diced carrots. I also added Queso to the soup mixture. This turned out yummy and even my 20 month old liked it! I recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtobin79
Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was good simple comfort food. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little roasted garlic while browning the hamburger and onions and sprinkling a handful of shredded cheese between the hamburger and potato layers. I only cooked this for about 40 minutes. The French fried onions were beginning to burn at the point. I would suggest not adding them until halfway through cooking time. Next time I think I would add more shredded cheese and maybe an extra can of soup, but that's just a personal preference. My husband and two year old enjoyed it and the leftovers were good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is THE BOMB!!! its a keeper I replaced the cream of mushroom with cream of cheddar cheese and it tasted soooo good my family loved it !! Economical for a family to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyecandy88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe was very good but a little plain. I added peas, onions, and carrots. It tasted veeeerryy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Definitely close to a 5 star as written, but I added a few things to add to the flavor profile. 1lb lean ground beef browned with 2 teaspoons of minced garlic, white pepper, black pepper both to taste, 2tsp of Worchestershire sauce, and 1/2tsp of liquid smoke. Mixed soups, and meat together, add 1 cup of frozen broccoli cuts, 1 cup of frozen sweet corn to soups/meat. Cover bottom of 9x13 casserole dish, only had 1/2 a bag of tater tots so placed them on top, and then sprinkled the fried onion rings over the entire dish. Popped it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes uncovered. Left the cheese out completely, and it was great. Thanks for a great base recipe, and a quick & easy dinner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was great. I followed some of the other reviewer suggestions. I added a can of cheddar cheese soup and about 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I also used ground turkey. I skipped the fried onion topping. Yum! My picky son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We love this dish! It's pretty easy for a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used the base of this recipe for my hot dish, but I altered it a bit based on other reviews. I added a bag of steam veggies with corn, pea, beans and carrots and also 2 stalks of celery finely chopped. Also, instead of using cream of mushroom or celery I used 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup. I think next time I'd add another can of soup though because mine turned out a bit dry. Otherwise, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancerbabe2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this on a snowy saturday night!! I found the kids and hubby picking at left overs an hour later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was looking very forward to this after all the reviews, and ended up rather disappointed. Mine turned out very salty, and I didn't even add salt, just pepper. I did add an extra can of cheddar soup, as others recommended, and mixed the soups with the ground beef. But other than that, no extra ingredients or changes. Maybe it's because I'm a southern girl and not used to this type of food, but the whole family (including my 16 month-old) ate up the sides (peas and carrots) and left the main dish almost untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States