Tater Tot Hot Dish I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I agreed with the other reviewers- fry up the hamburger with the chopped onion and diced garlic, drain, then put in the bottom of the casserole dish. I actually chopped up about half a large zucchini from my garden and added it to the onions and garlic as they sauteed (before adding the beef to the skillet) mainly just to add a veggie to this dish as it's a meal in itself. It was very delicious! Also, after I emptied the can of condensed cream of mushroom soup into the bowl, I refilled it all the way with milk instead of just half way. I'm not sure how it would have been with just half the milk, but I found the amount of creaminess to be perfect with how I did it. I also did similar to another reviewer and laid some slices of cheddar down- I put mine on top of the soup layer, so it actually went: meat, soup, cheese, tater tots. Then upon serving I added a few grates of cheddar on top of the hot dish once it hit the plate. Wonderful! And the kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooksfor6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is good, but greasy. That's what you get with tater tots though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I add 2 Tablespoons of dry Lipton onion mix to the soup mixture and 1 tablespoon worchestire sauce as well. Wasn't this called originally the "Firemans Casserole"? With that recipe it called to add 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese the last 5 min. of baking. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I make an even easier version of this: Meat in bottom of baking dish. Lots of worcestershire sauce on top. Mushroom soup on top of that. Tater tots for top layer. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I took other reviews advice and cooked the beef & onions first. I also spreaded cheddar cheese before the tots. This was definitely a "do again" from my guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Like it says this is an oldie...I also browned the ground beef and onion so that I was able to drain off the grease, skipped the oats (I can't stand oats and ground beef it is the whole moatloaf thing) added a can of veg-all and added a layer of cheese between the beef and tator tots...I cut the baking time down to approx 30 minutes since the beef is already cooked...this can be assembled up to the cheese layer in the morning put in the fridge pull it out just prior to dinner add the tator tots and pop it in the oven even the picky eaters like this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe went over very well with the kids. We enjoyed the dish as well. I did not put the oats in, I just substituted the cheese in place of of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
As other reviewers I cooked the ground beef and onion together with a bit of garlic. I left out the oats also. This dish turned out nice and cheesy, very good and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is comfort food to the max! Easy to make and so satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissysno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Lawrence, New York, USA
Living In: West Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really like this!! I cooked the ground beef and onions and garlic sale first, also skipped the oats and sprinkled cheddar on like others suggested. I added green beans to the beef after it was browned and it made a nice all in one meal. The kids really loved it. The only suggestion I have is to make sure you make it in a pretty big pan (9x13 AT LEAST) so that the tater tots will all fit on top. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States