Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious! The only thing that I changed was I used picante sauce instead of ketchup because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
There's so many recipes for Tater Tot casserole out there. I thought this one had the best base, but I did make some changes. I like my casseroles saucy, so I doubled the soup, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also added 3/4 cup of milk or gravy or whatever I have on hand to loosen it up a bit. Don't bother measuring 3 cups of Tater Tots, just use the full 32 oz bag. I also added a couple cloves of garlic. I decided the one thing this recipe was missing was cheese. I layered on an entire 8 oz bag of sharp cheddar before the Tater Tots and it sort of disappeared into the casserole. Believe it or not, slicing up 16 oz of Velveeta worked better... I guess if you're going to go processed, you might as well go all the way! I tried adding sauteed mushrooms, but didn't think it added enough to make it worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very good!!!! I added 1/3 of chipotle sauce and seasoned the meat with cumin, paprika and garlic powder. After cooking was done I added cheese to the tots. No ketchup. Hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this several times now and everybody absolutely loves it! I did add some minced garlic and green bell pepper but that is it everything else I left the same. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Total comfort food. My family loved it. I used lean ground turkey and reduced sodium mushroom soup. To make it a bit more convenient, I used already frozen diced onions. Was a bit healthier, super fast to whip up and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good basic comfort food recipe that you can prepare as-is, or dress up however you see fit. I have added different spice and/or seasoning blends while cooking the beef and onions (taco seasoning is a nice change of pace, so is Penzeys Tsardust Memories/Russian blend). I also fill in the whole top with tater tots, and generally sprinkle the top with shreds of whatever cheese I have on hand. Adding various vegetables could be interesting...thus far, I've only ever added extra mushrooms. It's a good starting point for taking a comfort food classic some fun places, but it's great as written, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My family loved this and I've already made it a second time. Simple, tasty, a real comfort casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I had forgotten all about this classic dish. My children used to love having this for dinner when they were rather young. As they got older I had completely forgotten this comfort food. I have prepared this recipe many times as written and it was a great success, reminding me of childhood, comfort food at its best and great on a cold night. I was looking for a way to use leftover taco meat, pouring over recipes for tamale pie etc. I stumbled across Tater tot casserole and thought, why not? I didn't have to cook any hamburger so I used dried onion instead of fresh. I mixed the soup, ketchup, onion, Worcestershire sauce,and precooked meat, all in a large bowl. I then spooned it all into a greased dish, arranged the Tater tots, and sprinkled with cheese. I prepared the casserole during my lunch break and it is sitting in the fridge wrapped in foil, waiting for me to pop it in the oven when I get home from work tonight. I have made this dish also using the BBQ sauce that others have mentioned, and also adding a bit of sour cream if I have too much hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a pleasant surprise! My family ate it up and wanted more! Next time I will double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this the other night. It was great. I added cream of celery soup and some peas, corn and green beans to bulk it up a bit. Also put some french fried onions on top. Finished off with cheddar cheese for the last five minutes. Mmm mmmm good! We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States