Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This dish is super yummy, even my 18month old ate it up. I did make some changes, though. First I boiled some yellow and green zucchini, red and green bell pepper, carrots, corn, potatoes and green beans for about 20 minutes, drained. I also used ground pork instead of beef and sautaed some onions with the pork. I did not use the worstersire sauce or catsup. I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can of cream of chicken with about 2 tablespoons of milk. I seasoned with Mrs. Dash, fresh ground organic pepper medley and paprika and mixed about a cup of shredded Colby jack cheese. I also baked the tator tots alone for 10 minutes to give it a little extra crispiness. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Pretty Comfort food casserole. I really liked this as a basic recipe that you can add a lot of your own flare to. I read other people's reviews and added a can of green beans to the casserole. I also realized at the last minute that I didn't have cream of mushroom soup, but I did have Campbell's condensed Cheddar Cheese soup. So I used that and added a small can of mushrooms to ad a bit of savory to it. I also added a tiny bit of chicken broth to spread the sauce a bit. I think the original recipe would also be amazing, but my "mistakes" also turned out well! Next time I'll make it with the correct soup and see which I prefer. This is a great fast meal though and very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I was skeptical, but we were pleased. I added some cheese on top and we were good to go. This is a quick, easy dish to make when you are feeling lazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is a very easy, quick, and inexpensive dinner! O and delicious! I added velvet a cheese and corn to it! Mmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Kids said it was ok . Husband would have liked it better if I didn't put the tater tot s in . All in all in was a good meal . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was such a kid friendly, and simple dinner idea for the average family..super busy and always on the go go go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I loved it! I added some cheddar cheese and frozen peas! My mom use to make it! But I used this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann Martz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krbinggeli
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was a pretty good meal with several tweaks. I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can cream of chicken. I felt it needed more than one can and I was right. I added a bag if frozen mixed vegetables to the pot with the meat mixture. I also omitted the ketchup. I baked for 25 minutes added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the top and baked for another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krbinggeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I gave 5 only because I used it as a "base recipe" instead ground beef I tore apart 4 5 oz cube steaks and seasoned with garlic salt,onion salt,chicken boulon (sp?),pink sea salt ,pepper and cavender's greek seasoning cooked that up and drained. While cooking preheated oven to 350 instead of 425 . I did two cans of cream of mushroom full flavor not reduced sodium or fat free. Added about 8 oz of whole milk. 2 cans of corn mixed well then added the cooked. Then added about half a bag of tots mixed well and topped with the rest of the bag of tots. Covered with the glass top for my casserole dish. Baked for 55 mins and removed the top for the last 5 minutes. It turned out amazing lots of flavor the tots were fully cooked and nice and browned on the top. It was much better than other recipes I had tried where the flavor was bland and the tots never seemed fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilaire Watkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I actually dice up bell pepper, celery, & onion with a tiny bit of minced garlic. I like a lot of flavor in my food. I have never added the Worcestershire sauce or ketchup, but I may add it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arris Storm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States