Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used this recipe as more of a guideline as I rarely follow them exact. I sauted 3\4 of a yellow onion, minced four garlic, and browned 1lb leaned ground turkey meat because I don't eat beef. I drained the onion, garlic and meat mixture added a package of frozen vegetables medley, Worcestershire, melted about a handful of shredded kraft Mexican cheese with a hint of Philadelphia, and two cans of cream of mushroom soup so it wasnt so dry. I poured the mixture in a glass pan and spring a light layer of Mexican cheese on top and put gator tots over the entire thing! Then I seasoned that with Season All and pepper, baked for about 30 minutes and served with Texas toast. Yum yum! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We make this all the time, it is my son's favorite. The only changes that I make are, I add milk to the soup to thin a little, a can of drained green beans, and instead of ketchup we use bbq sauce. I cover the casserole with shredded cheese. It is a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara yeats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
the hamiltons loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe. I had everything, except the mushroom soup, so I used Cream of Celery. It was yummy. Sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDeB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Excellent base recipe, but made some changes,1-lb ground Turkey, 1- med onion,chopped, 2 Tablespoons minced garlic, 1/2 cup green peppers,chopped 1 can (5oz forgot to look) chili peppers drained, 1/2 bag frozen mixed veggies, 1 can cream of chicken soup,3-Tbls Worcestershire sauce, 3- Tbls BBQ sauce (sweet rays) 1-tsp liquid smoke, 2TBLs- 21 Salute spice (trader Joe's), 2-tsp smoked paprika,1-2 tsp cracked black pepper, 1/4- 1/3 cup chicken broth, 1/3 cup milk, 2 TBls corn starch, 1- cup shredded cheddar cheese, 36 oz bag of tater tots. Cook ground turkey a bit then add onions, garlic, green peppers, can of chili peppers, I add the Spices 21 salute, smoked Paprika, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, BBQ sauce, liquid smoke continue cooking, add 1/2 bag of mixed veggies,chicken broth cook for about 15 mins the add corn starch to the milk, mix and add to meat and veggie mixture let thicken about 5-10 mins, pour into greased 11x9 pan top with shredded cheddar cheese. Take tots and mince in food processor not to small...then top the mixture with chopped tots, put in oven cook 20 mins then broil to crisp the top......came out added more cheese to top but very little didn't want tots to get mushy, came out awesome thick and filling my guys (hubby son 17,son 22) loved it so much they ate the whole pan. Looks like a lot of work but it took me about 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Latsch Matheny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I add frozen peas and sprinkle cheese on top before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I added cheese to the top of mine, and used onion powder instead of chopped onion. This dish turned out great! My roommate loved it and so did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Its okay. Its not something I would go out of my way to tell everyone about or rush to make for company. Its more of something you would make when you have random ingredients around that you need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I dont care for any tater tot casserole at all, but my husband loves it. I dont use ketchup or Worcestershire but I do add some onion soup mix to the beef after browning with just a touch of water and let it cook off - like when using taco seasoning. I also add shredded cheddar the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States