Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
My first time having a tater tot casserole and I am a fan. I did add a can of cream corn and a touch of milk to make it more creamy. And some grated zucchini just to use it up. I added some more tots on top to add some crunch like other reviews said. It's a simple recipe, so making little changes to make it your own is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this last night. The great thing about this dish is like shepherd's pie, there are infinite ways to make it your own. I made some changes. I did use the ketchup and worcestershire sauce (in fact I can't imagine how bland it would be without it!). I only had a family-size can of cream of mushroom soup and I used about 3/4 of it. I used dehydrated onion because my husband doesn't like to bit into pieces of onion. While cooking meat and onion I added in some black pepper and garlic salt. I added 3/4 can whole kernel corn and 3/4 can french cut green beans. I topped the beef/veggie mixture with shredded cheddar and topped it with wall-to-wall tater tots. I baked it for 35-40 minutes so the tater tots would get crispy. It was good but still "missing something" and a tad bland. My 5 year old and I topped it with some ketchup before eating and that was pretty good. I thought reheating would be bad because the tater tots wouldn't be crunchy but it was actually better! The flavors had time to get stronger and mix. I still had to top it with ketchup though. Next time I will double up on the ketchup and worcestershire sauce and maybe add some more spices. Also, my husband suggested a "man's" tater tot casserole with crisp, crumbled bacon and BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and maybe the SLIGHTEST drop of liquid smoke. Hmmmmm...he may be on to something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My Family loved this!!!! I made as recipe states but added sharp cheddar on top of the tots!!! Yummy and an instant comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was sooooo good! I precooked the onion in a bit of olive oil, added garlic powder and peas to the beef mixture, and put a layer of cheese under the tator tots (so they still got crispy). Next time I will make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roni
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is my go-to recipe when I want something quick and satisfying! When I make this casserole, I use ground turkey, add another can of cream of mushroom (or cream of chicken) soup and add a layer of sharp cheddar cheese before I put on the tater tots. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I thought this was horrible. I ended up taking the tater tots out and eating them without the sauce, so at least I didn't have to throw the whole dish out, but the tater tots still had a little of the sauce on them, so they still weren't as good as if I had just made plain old regular tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The kids loved it. We used more than 3 c. of tater tots -- we wanted to cover the entire top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
The ketchup and Worcestershire sauce make this a GREAT recipe. For a long time I have been looking for a recipe that adds more to my normal tator tot casserole recipe. I added some water to the cream of mushroom so it isn't so thick. I also added salt and pepper. My very picky 11 year old liked it and that does not happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Came out very good and the whole family loved it! Since my youngest daughter doesnt like onions i kept them out and added cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wheaties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
OMG! This was awesome! Made it so my picky 3yr old would eat it and I ended up eating All of it! So good! Followed recipe exactly except for no ketchup, and cheese on top before the tots. Will DEFINITELY make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States