Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love tater tot casserole, this recipe is much the same as mine, but I don't add ketchup. I also add a drained can of corn and a drained can of green beans for extra nutrition, and a 1/2 cup of milk mixed in to loosen it up and stretch the soup. MMMM MMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
589 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My wife whipped up a batch of this stuff on a busy weeknight, and after a few bites we both agreed that this is a little casserole that fires on all cylinders. Maybe it's the charming simplicity of the preparation, or the childhood memories brought up by the tater-tots, but we found this concoction to be surprisingly scrumptious; it's got plenty of flavor, and a nice variation in textures. I suppose it should be noted that we used ground turkey breast instead of ground beef, and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was really good. I followed the recipe but added cheddar cheese and mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is such a great dish! I did make a few changes and wouldn't change a thing: I didn't add any ketchup. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup so it wouldn't be too dry, I added a can of drained french style green beans, sauteed mushrooms and then before putting on the tater tots, I layered the top of the meat mixture with Velveeta slices and topped that with french fried onions and then put the tator tots on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great, except I kind of changed a lot of stuff. I left out the worcestershire altogether, and I only added ketchup at the end- for dipping. I also added a package of frozen chopped broccoli- so that we could get our vegetables in. It was good. The broccoli really lended itself to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is awsome, i was raised on this recipe also, we just do not add the catsup and worshershire , and we add some grated cheddar cheese on top just before taking out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Toy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
After reading this recipe, and the review that was left. I followed the directions perfectly and then took the first reviews advice and added some cheddar cheese, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I didn't use the ketchup, but I found the Worchestshire sauce to be a delicious addition to this. It really added to the flavor. My entire family gobbled it up. We always have leftovers, but not with this one. It was actually requested that I make a BIGGER pan of it next time. lol thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is good if you're looking for something quick and very easy. It probably doesn't need all the onion but it does have good flavor. I think next time I'd coat the entire top with tator tots...it kind of helps even out the mushiness. I'll probably make it again if I get in a crunch for time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Taylor
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This wasn't bad for a quick and easy meal. I put the hashbrowns over the entire top. I have a family of 5 and I think next time I will make 2 pans. The kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States