Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Total comfort food. My family loved it. I used lean ground turkey and reduced sodium mushroom soup. To make it a bit more convenient, I used already frozen diced onions. Was a bit healthier, super fast to whip up and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good basic comfort food recipe that you can prepare as-is, or dress up however you see fit. I have added different spice and/or seasoning blends while cooking the beef and onions (taco seasoning is a nice change of pace, so is Penzeys Tsardust Memories/Russian blend). I also fill in the whole top with tater tots, and generally sprinkle the top with shreds of whatever cheese I have on hand. Adding various vegetables could be interesting...thus far, I've only ever added extra mushrooms. It's a good starting point for taking a comfort food classic some fun places, but it's great as written, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My family loved this and I've already made it a second time. Simple, tasty, a real comfort casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I had forgotten all about this classic dish. My children used to love having this for dinner when they were rather young. As they got older I had completely forgotten this comfort food. I have prepared this recipe many times as written and it was a great success, reminding me of childhood, comfort food at its best and great on a cold night. I was looking for a way to use leftover taco meat, pouring over recipes for tamale pie etc. I stumbled across Tater tot casserole and thought, why not? I didn't have to cook any hamburger so I used dried onion instead of fresh. I mixed the soup, ketchup, onion, Worcestershire sauce,and precooked meat, all in a large bowl. I then spooned it all into a greased dish, arranged the Tater tots, and sprinkled with cheese. I prepared the casserole during my lunch break and it is sitting in the fridge wrapped in foil, waiting for me to pop it in the oven when I get home from work tonight. I have made this dish also using the BBQ sauce that others have mentioned, and also adding a bit of sour cream if I have too much hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a pleasant surprise! My family ate it up and wanted more! Next time I will double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this the other night. It was great. I added cream of celery soup and some peas, corn and green beans to bulk it up a bit. Also put some french fried onions on top. Finished off with cheddar cheese for the last five minutes. Mmm mmmm good! We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
We tried this tonight and LOVED it. My son doesn't like cheese so just my husband and I sprinkled cheddar cheese on it and we would rate it a six! It is easy and super good! I went heavy on the ground beef and tater tots to make it bulkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow. I grew up on this casserole! The only thing we do different is add a can of mixed vegetables to the ground beef mixture. We bake it for an hour at 350. This is such a great comfort food and I agree with the other reviewers about it having such a great variety of textures and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Absolutely love this - using ketchup (for just a tad of extra zing), Worcestershire, and all. The only thing I did differently was used Healthy Request soup, 1/2 cup of shredded cheese mixed in with the beef/soup mixture, and put a can of green beans (drained) at bottom of the round casserole dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
very good, I added more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States