Tater Tot Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added a can of corn and then doubled the soup. Also added some cheese on top at the end and then baked an additional five minutes. Soooooo good. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I browned a pound of ground beef with chopped onion (I omitted the sausage). I used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of celery, and added a couple spoonfuls sour cream. Next time I will thin the soup mixture with a little milk to make it creamier. One can of soup is NOT enough for this recipe - it would be too dry. With the soup I mixed in some frozen mixed veggies (corn, carrots, green beans and peas). Layered the ingredients as directed, but added shredded cheddar on top of the meat mixture, and then a little more cheese on top of the tots near the end of the baking time. The meat definitely needs seasoning if you want a more robust flavor. A good casserole for a cool autumn night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is one of those 'old standbys' in my family because it is versatile. If I am feeling zesty I can add something new and it becomes a whole new casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was great and my entire family loved it. Excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe alot! :) I did vary it after looking at other reviews. I only used ground beef, I also used an extra can of creamed soup, I used cream of celery along with the cream of mushroom, it would be too dry with only one can, I also added some sour cream to the soup mixture, and some spices such as garlic and onion powder,salt and pepper,a little worchestire and some seasoning salt and then when I did the layers, I added a can of corn and a can of rotel and some cheese and then added some cheese at the last 10 min to the top of the casserole. It was VERY tasty!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I felt this dish was lacking the veggies that I normally use to make Tater Tot Hotdish! Kids love it and why not pump the veggies?! I always use cream of chicken soup, cream of mushroom soup, and either a bag of frozen mixed veggies or 2 cans of mixed veggies! I also season my burger -- beef w/ no sausage -- using pepper, parsley, garlic and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Talk about comfort! My family tried to balk at this dish, but once they tasted it, they were hooked. I did make a few changes. First, I used a package of frozen veggies and a can of diced potatoes. I used cream of chicken rather than mushroom, and I used 2 cans of it because the casserole seemed dry. I also cooked the tater tots for about 15 minutes before putting them on the casserole to make them crisper. I also put the cheese on the casserole before adding the tots so it bakes into the casserole. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is by no means one of my best meals I make, but I give this 5 stars because it is so easy and family friendly. My kids not only love eating it, they make it themselves. For 32 oz tots, I use 2 lbs ground beef, 2 cans soup, 2 cans green beans, and 2 cups cheese. Mix the meat, soups, and beans together; spread cheese over; top with tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
A tasty version of this popular casserole...I usually add grated cheddar cheese to the top about ten minutes before I remove it from the oven. My four-year old daughter loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Great casserole. My entire family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States