Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I wasn't sure what I was thinking putting 1/2 cup Butter into one dish. Save the butter for the top only, 1/2 the amount of it. The top, I will say, is absolutely devine. Needs some meat as well: I think chopped uncured Cherrywood Bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This tastes great! I made a few minor modifications. I sautéed the onion along with fresh garlic in the 1/2 cup of butter rather than putting in the onion raw. I also added cooked bacon to the mixture (since this is going to a pot luck party). I love how buttery and crispy the corn flakes are on top! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Omitted the butter and topping altogether. Other than that was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M. Bredahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silvis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I always substitute cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken. I make to recipe and always enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yummy ! First time having Tater tot casserole. To make it a full meal I added well seasoned cooked ground beef, cream of mushroom & chicken soup, and a couple of tlbs of jarred jalepeno's diced which gave it a nice kick. I left out the butter and corn flakes and added the cheese 20 mins before the hour was up and cooked uncovered.. Everyone loved it. Thanks 4 this great recipe. Its a keeper. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was sooo yummy!! My husband even loved it (which rarely happens)! I cut the butter in half. And used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes b/c I didnt have any. Also used about 1 Tbsp of minced onion, maybe could have increased it. My tater tots were frozed and still cooked fine in 1 hour, then I let it sit with foil on top for about 15 min til our turkey burgers were done. Made for a yummy side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
My first review on this site! Awesome recipe, just what I was looking for, well mostly... I did make a few changes. I browned up a package of turkey breakfast sausage, cut 'em up and added to the tots. I also didn't add the 1/2 c. softened butter to the mix, so made sure to grease my pan well. I omitted the parmesan and eyeballed the amount of cornflakes. Instead of melting and pouring butter on top I used my large hole cheese grater and grated some on, letting it melt in the oven (it's easier to "spread" around evenly then pouring on melted). Happy family here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good. Will make this again. Made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Probably fattening but it's great comfort food. My children loved it. Let's face it, I've had the recipe in my file for almost 10 years! I guess that makes it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My husband and I liked this, even my 15 month old son enjoyed this, & anything my son will eat more than a bite of is a winner in my book. I did add some diced ham to mine, used reduced fat cream of chicken, light sour cream and I left the corn flake topping off, we aren't fans of crumb toppings on potato dishes most of the time. I also reduced the butter down to 2 tablespoons total... the three of us alone could eat that whole dish in one sitting so I just couldn't justify using the full amount. It still tasted good with less butter and it wasn't greasy either. I wasn't sure about using cream of chicken vs cream of mushroom soup but it turned out very good & id make it this way again if we were out of cream of mushroom soup and were craving some tater tot casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States